Veeam产品
 > 
Veeam Availability Suite
 > 
特性
 >  避免丢失数据
全新 Veeam Availability Suite 9.5 包括 Veeam Backup & Replication 和 Veeam ONE

避免丢失数据

极佳的恢复点目标 (RPO) 和内置精简高效的灾难恢复

Veeam® Backup & Replication™ 提供多种备份选项,以满足您的需求并确保尽可能最快、最高效的备份。利用 2-in-1: backup and replication™(二合一式备份与复制),您既可以现场复制以实现高可用性,又可以异地复制以实现灾难恢复。这些功能与其他功能相结合,实现了不到 15 分钟的恢复点目标 (RPO),再加上内置的精简高效的灾难恢复功能,可帮助您避免数据丢失。

基于映像的应用程序感知备份

确保完整一致的备份

Veeam Backup & Replication 使用基于 Microsoft VSS 的应用程序感知映像处理技术为运行 VSS 感知应用程序(如 Microsoft Active Directory、SQL Server、Exchange 和 SharePoint)的虚拟机创建映像级备份,而不必事先关闭这些应用程序。这意味着,在数据拷贝操作期间,不会出现任何未完成的数据库事务或不完整的应用程序文件,因此能够生成事务一致的备份。Veeam 专有技术可确保成功完成虚拟机恢复,正确恢复虚拟机上安装的所有应用程序,而不会丢失任何数据。该技术还可在备份成功后执行特定于应用程序的步骤,例如截断事务日志。

Veeam 是唯一能够正确支持 VSS 的解决方案,因为它采用自有的 VSS 驱动程序。这样可以提供数据库一致的备份,而不只是崩溃一致的备份。

Barry Blakeley
基础架构设计师
Mazda North American Operations

自动智能负载平衡

最大化备份性能

从单一的 Veeam Backup & Replication 安装扩容到可为成千上万的服务器和数以 PB 计的数据提供有效保护的环境,却不会增加复杂性,也不会影响备份作业的性能。自动智能负载平衡可确保在 Veeam Backup & Replication 分布式基础构架内进行高性能备份,而备份 I/O 控制则可确保生产负载不会受到备份作业的负面影响。

了解详情

高级复制

改进异地备份和恢复

异地备份和恢复是任何灾难恢复 (DR) 计划的关键组成部分。利用 Enterprise Plus 版 Veeam Availability Suite™、Veeam Backup & Replication 和 Veeam Backup Essentials™ 提供的强大复制功能改进灾难恢复计划和避免丢失数据。我们的复制功能可实现:

  • 快速、安全、基于云的灾难恢复即服务 (DRaaS)
  • 在不影响生产环境的前提下从备份文件复制数据
  • 内置协调机制的故障切换计划,能够实现简便的一键式站点故障切换
  • 有计划的故障切换,能够推动实现零数据丢失的数据中心迁移
详细了解高级复制
 

从存储快照备份(HPE、NetApp、Dell EMC 和 Nimble)

利用存储快照的强大功能

根据所需的频率(甚至在工作时间)从存储快照创建基于映像的备份和副本,几乎乃至完全不影响生产环境。Veeam 既能提供 VMware vSphere 快照以确保应用程序一致的备份,又能提供存储快照以实现极佳的恢复点目标 (RPO),真可谓两全齐美。

利用从存储快照备份的功能,您将能够:

  • 快速备份—从 Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE)、 NetApp、 Dell EMC 和 Nimble 新功能 存储快照备份 vSphere 虚拟机,速度至多提高 50 倍
  • 增强灾难恢复—通过从存储快照即时创建第二备份来增强灾难恢复能力
  • 多平台支持—支持的存储平台包括 HPE StoreServ (3PAR)、StoreVirtual(LeftHand/P4000 系列)和 StoreVirtual VSA(虚拟存储设备),NetApp FAS 系列、NetApp FlexArray(V 系列)、Edge VSA,Dell EMC VNX、VNX2 和 VNXe,以及 Nimble CS 和 AF 系列。
详细了解从存储快照备份。
阅读此白皮书:使用 Veeam Backup & Replication 备份 NetApp 存储快照
 

视频:从存储快照备份

HPE Converged Storage 与 Veeam Backup & Replication 软件的联袂组合,可以加快备份和恢复的速度,从而帮助客户在不牺牲企业生产效率的同时尽量避免丢失数据。

Steve Crimi
业务开发与联盟高级总监
HPE

内置广域网加速

更快的异地备份

通过将异地备份拷贝到远程存储,增强您的灾难恢复战略。通过利用缓存、可变块长度数据指纹和 TCP/IP 协议优化等技术,内置广域网加速可使广域网数据传输速度至多提升 50 倍。Veeam 内置广域网加速不需要安装代理程序,对网络设置无特殊要求,也不需要增加带宽。

详细了解内置广域网加速

除此之外,内置广域网加速还另有妙处。我们在远程办事处配置了 Veeam 备份代理,因而能够将这些办事处的虚拟机备份到本地存储。我们通过广域网加速将备份副本传输到自己的数据中心。在使用 Veeam 广域网加速之前,我们发现,由于带宽限制,我们不可能从远程办事处传输备份副本。虽然有些办事处装有宽带,但是带宽有限,而要传输的乃是 300-600 GB 的虚拟机。有了 Veeam,我就放心了,因为我知道我们的远程办事处已备份到数据中心,即便某个办事处的系统崩溃了,我也能还原虚拟机。

Todd Leavitt
信息技术经理
PBS Engineering and Environmental Inc.

 

Veeam Cloud Connect 增强功能

快速可靠的云备份和复制

无需为构建和维护异地基础架构耗费大量人力物力,即可实现异地备份和副本。Veeam Cloud Connect 提供一种全集成的方案,可以快速且安全地从云进行备份、复制和还原。

您所需做的只是选择一个服务提供商并将您的 VMware vSphere 和 Microsoft Hyper-V 备份或复制作业指向云。基于云的灾难恢复和异地备份从未如此简单。

您是服务提供商?请点击此处了解详情
您是最终用户?请点击此处了解详情
 

我早就期待和梦想 Veeam 推出这样的产品,现在终于出现了……太棒了!

Rasmus Haslund
系统工程师
Arrow Enterprise Computing Solutions

Scale-out Backup Repository(扩展式备份存储库)

有了 Scale-out Backup Repository™(扩展式备份存储库),您现在可以简化备份作业管理和减少存储开支。Veeam 的 Scale-out Backup Repository(扩展式备份存储库)将各个存储设备抽象化成抽象层,从而创建单一的虚拟备份存储池,您可以将备份分配到该虚拟存储池中。借助该功能,在需要时,只需向池中增加一些存储设备,即可自由而轻松地扩展存储容量。

这一新功能具有下列优势:

  • 充分利用存储投资—可将任何存储设备(包括带有本地存储或直接附加存储 (DAS)、网络附加存储 (NAS) 或去重设备的服务器)中未使用的存储空间添加到单一的 Scale-out Backup Repository(扩展式备份存储库)中,从而节省购置和维护新存储设备的费用。
  • 简化备份作业管理—可透明地将备份文件分布到 Scale-out Backup Repository(扩展式备份存储库)的多个存储设备,而不必针对每个备份作业都分配一个备份存储库,并且还需要考虑每个作业的大小。这样极大地简化了存储库容量管理工作,让您能够大幅减少备份整个环境所需的作业数量。
  • 提升备份性能—利用备份文件存放策略,可以指定将完全备份文件和增量备份文件存放在不同的存储设备上,从而改善合成完全备份的创建与转换性能。此外,还可以根据成本和性能因素,将不同类型的备份文件存放到不同类型的存储设备中。
阅读博客帖子
 

了解详情!请观看 Scale-out Backup Repository(扩展式备份存储库)视频

免费试用版

Veeam Availability Suite 9.5

试用版本功能没有任何限制

直接存储访问

通过直接从主存储中备份,而不是通过主机检索虚拟机数据,能够更快地执行 VMware 备份并降低对虚拟环境的影响。直接存储访问有两种模式:对于光纤通道 (FC) 和 iSCSI SAN,采用直接存储区域网络 (SAN);对于基于文件的 (NFS) 存储,则采用直接 NFS 访问。

  • 直接 SAN 访问—通过存储区域网络 (SAN) 光纤直接从光纤通道 (FC) 和 iSCSI 存储设备中传输虚拟机数据,整个过程无需通过局域网。Veeam Backup & Replication 利用 VMware VADP 检索存储区域网络 (SAN) 中的数据,允许您绕过虚拟环境,实现最快的数据传输速度,同时又不会给生产网络和主机带来任何负载。
  • 直接 NFS 访问增强功能—使用 Veeam 专有的 NFS 客户端直接从基于文件的 (NFS) 存储中检索虚拟机数据,备份速度更快且对主机无任何影响。支持 NFS v3 和 NFS v4.1 存储。
Advanced functionality for granular recovery

原生磁带支持增强功能

轻松实现数据长期保留

凭借原生磁带支持,满足您的合规性要求和长期存档政策。同时将多个备份文件存档到磁带,极大提升了总体磁带性能和延长了保留期限,通过内置的祖父-父-子保留策略节省了磁带消耗量。您可以将完整的虚拟机备份或定期单个备份文件存档到磁带介质,在需要时从磁带还原数据。Veeam Backup & Replication 支持虚拟磁带库 (VTL)、磁带库和独立驱动器和磁带轨道文件、虚拟机和还原点,甚至支持无原生 Windows 介质切换器的磁带设备。

详细了解原生磁带支持

我们选用 Veeam 的另一个原因是它可帮助我们更高效地满足安全要求。我们需要使用磁带将异地备份数据保存一段时间,但如果要使用磁带异地存储的方法来进行每日虚拟机级或文件级恢复,将会非常耗费时间,这是因为必须向第三方供应商购买磁带。利用 Veeam 的广域网优化和磁带支持,我们可以通过广域网向 Pretoria 发送备份,然后每月一次地将这些备份转移到磁带。我们符合各项法规要求,能够更快捷更轻松地还原虚拟机。

Pieter Kruger
高级托管服务经理
PricewaterhouseCoopers South Africa

 

BitLooker

Veeam 的 BitLooker™ 技术通过将备份文件的大小和复制带宽使用量减少 20% 乃至更多,降低了备份存储成本和带宽使用量。

BitLooker 中包含了一系列独创的先进技术,通过排除以下文件和文件夹删除了那些霸占备份存储资源和网络资源的无用数据块:

  • 已删除的文件块
  • 交换文件和休眠文件
  • 用户指定的文件和文件夹
Veeam BitLooker allows you to exclude deleted file blocks and useless files, and save storage space and network bandwidth.

远程办事处/分支机构 (ROBO) 支持

企业级可用性

Veeam 针对不断发展的业务环境设计了强大的功能,可在不增加复杂性的前提下,加快恢复速度,提高灵活性和可扩展性。

Veeam Backup & Replication 可用作独立控制台,用户可将其安装到自己的工作站以提升便利性和易用性,并且再也不需要与备份服务器进行 RDP 会话。Remote Office / Branch Office(远程办事处/分支机构,英文简称为 ROBO)增强功能通过将指向远程站点的备份和还原活动设置为本地运行,帮助不断发展中的大企业缩短备份和恢复时间,同时降低广域网带宽消耗量。

了解详情

从 NetApp SnapMirror 和 SnapVault 备份

从 NetApp SnapMirror 和 SnapVault 备份的功能通过从 SnapMirror 或 SnapVault 备用存储系统(而不是主存储系统)检索虚拟机数据,消除了备份活动对生产存储造成的额外影响。

端到端加密

灵活的备份安全机制

利用端到端 AES 256 加密(在源端(备份期间)、空中和目标端)来保护您的备份数据,对于内置压缩和广域网加速无任何负面影响。即使遗忘密码,您仍可从加密的备份文件中恢复数据,而不会损害安全性。

另外,您可以灵活地选择在何时何地进行加密。例如,为了加快备份和还原速度,您可以选择不对本地备份进行加密,而只对拷贝到异地目标或磁带的备份进行加密。为了提高安全性,您还可以用不同的密码保护不同的备份,在每次会话时随机生成实际的加密密钥。

详细了解端到端加密
 

Dell EMC Data Domain Boost 支持增强功能

准备迎接更快速的备份!

利用 Dell EMC Data Domain Boost™,您可以对源端数据去重,从而更快、更高效地备份,缩短恢复点目标 (RPO) 并降低数据丢失风险。Veeam Backup & Replication 与 Dell EMC Data Domain Boost 组合的优势包括:

  • 备份性能至多提升 50%
  • 广域网数据空中加密
  • 合成完全备份文件的创建和转换速度提升 10 倍,进一步缩短备份窗口
  • 光纤通道连接,无需通过局域网即可备份到数据域
详细了解 Dell EMC Data Domain Boost 支持

如果没有 Dell EMC Data Domain Boost,通过 Veeam 进行合成完全备份需要 2 小时 54 分钟,有了 Boost,则仅需 11 分钟 27 秒钟,备份速度差不多提升了 15 倍。

Adam Armstrong
StorageReview.com 撰稿人

 
免费试用版

Veeam Availability Suite 9.5

试用版本功能没有任何限制

HPE StoreOnce Catalyst

利用 HPE StoreOnce Catalyst,您可以改善备份性能,降低备份成本并简化备份环境。Veeam 和 HPE StoreOnce Catalyst 的完美组合可以通过下列方式提供这些优势:

  • 源端去重— 可以在传输数据之前在 Veeam 备份代理上对 HPE Catalyst 数据进行去重,而不必通过网络将所有数据从备份服务器传输到去重设备。这就减少了网络传输的数据量,从而提升了慢速网络上的备份性能。
  • 加快合成完全备份的创建速度—不用物理移动数据(只需将指针更新为现有数据),就可以在 HPE StoreOnce 内合成完全备份文件,从而将备份和备份拷贝作业中合成完全备份的创建和转换操作速度提升达 10 倍。

总之,通过这种集成,在所有还原场景中,还原性能一般都会得到改善。

Advanced functionality for granular recovery

内置压缩和去重

节省成本而不牺牲性能

为减少网络流量和存储备份文件所需的磁盘空间,Veeam Backup & Replication 免费提供了压缩和去重功能。去重功能让网络仅传输您所需的数据。Veeam 可以根据虚拟机大小和备份目标的类型从四种不同选项中选择一项,这样,您可以减小备份大小并提升作业性能。Veeam 还提供五种级别的压缩(包括为内置去重功能的存储设备设计的去重友好压缩),以便您在存储消耗、作业持续时间和备份代理负载之间寻找合适的平衡。

详细了解内置压缩和去重

依靠 Veeam 的数据去重技术,缩短了备份窗口,同时大幅减少了所需的备份存储容量。现在,借助于 Veeam 解决方案,我们每年大约可以节省 5 万美元的备份存储成本。

Barry Stewart
IT 经理
Prairie South School Division

去重存储性能改善

除了针对 Dell EMC 和 HPE 去重设备的改进外,Veeam Backup & Replication 现在还提供了能够为任何去重存储设备带来性能改善的各种功能:

  • 每虚拟机备份文件链选项充分利用并行虚拟机处理能力,让您能够逐台虚拟机(而非逐个备份作业)地对去重设备同时执行多个写入流,从而使备份性能至多提升 10 倍。
  • 使用备份复制作业的主动完全备份选项可减少对去重设备的数据重组,提升本地备份拷贝性能,减轻去重设备本身的负载。

其他产品功能:

观看视频

Veeam 系统工程师提供的现场或录制的会话

立即试用

在您的实验室Veeam

如何购买

许可选项和包装

Veeam Products
Veeam Availability Suite
 >  Data Loss Avoidance
New Veeam Availability Suite v9 Includes Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE

Data Loss Avoidance

Low RPOs and built-in, streamlined disaster recovery

Veeam® Backup & Replication™ provides multiple backup options designed to meet your needs and ensure the fastest, most efficient backups possible. With 2-in-1: backup and replication™, you can also replicate either on site for high Availability or off site for disaster recovery. These features and more combine to help you avoid data loss by enabling low recovery point objectives (RPO) of < 15 minutes and built-in, streamlined disaster recovery.

No feature limitations for 30 days

Download FREE Trial

Application-aware, image-based backup

Ensure complete, consistent backups

Veeam Backup & Replication uses application-aware image processing based on Microsoft VSS to create its image-level backups for virtual machines (VMs) running VSS-aware applications (such as Microsoft Active Directory, SQL Server, Exchange and SharePoint) without shutting them down. This means there are no unfinished database transactions or incomplete application files during data copying operations, which leads to transactionally consistent backups. Veeam’s proprietary technology ensures successful VM recovery and proper recovery of all applications installed on the VM, without any data loss. It also performs application-specific steps upon successful backup-like transaction log truncation.

Veeam is the only solution to support VSS correctly because it uses its own VSS driver. This provides database-consistent backups, not just crash-consistent backups.

Barry Blakeley
Infrastructure Architect
Mazda North American Operations

Automatic Intelligent Load Balancing

Maximize backup performance

Scale your single Veeam Backup & Replication installation to protect thousands of servers and petabytes of data without adding complexity or compromising the performance of your backup jobs. Automatic Intelligent Load Balancing ensures high-performance backups within the Veeam Backup & Replication distributed architecture, while Backup I/O Control ensures that production workloads are not negatively impacted by backup jobs.

Learn more

Advanced Replication

Improve off-site backup and recovery

Off-site backup and recovery is a critical part of any disaster recovery (DR) plan. Improve your DR plan and avoid data loss with our powerful replication features available in Enterprise Plus editions of Veeam Availability Suite™, Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam Backup Essentials™. Our replication features deliver:

  • Fast and secure cloud-based disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) NEW
  • Replication from backup files without impacting your production environment
  • Failover plans for built-in orchestration that enable easy 1-click site failover
  • Planned failover that facilitates data center migrations with zero data loss
Learn more about advanced replication

Backup from Storage Snapshots (Dell EMC, HPE and NetApp)

Leverage the power of storage snapshots

Create image-based backups and replicas from storage snapshots as often as you need to — even during business hours — with little to no impact on your production environment. Veeam combines the best of both worlds, providing you with VMware vSphere snapshots for application-consistent backups and storage snapshots for low RPOs.

With Backup from Storage Snapshots you get:

  • Fast backups— Back up vSphere VMs from Dell EMC NEW, HPE and NetApp storage snapshots up to 50x faster
  • Improved disaster recovery— Improve DR by creating instant, secondary backups from storage snapshots
  • Multiple platforms— Supported storage platforms include Dell EMC VNX, VNX2 and VNXe, HPE StoreServ (3PAR), StoreVirtual (LeftHand/P4000 series) and StoreVirtual VSA (Virtual Storage Appliance), as well as NetApp FAS Series, NetApp FlexArray (V-Series) and Edge VSA.
Learn more about Backup from Storage SnapshotsNetApp and Veeam Backup & Replication v9: Configuration Guide and Best Practices

Video: Backup from Storage Snapshots

The combination of HPE Converged Storage and Veeam Backup & Replication software accelerates backup and recovery to help customers minimize data loss without sacrificing organization-wide productivity.

Steve Crimi
Senior Director of Business Development and Alliances

Built-in WAN Acceleration

Faster offsite backups

Strengthen your disaster recovery strategy by copying your backups off site to remote storage. By utilizing caching, variable block length data fingerprinting and TCP/IP protocol optimizations, Built-in WAN Acceleration speeds up data transfer across the WAN up to 50x. Veeam’s Built-in WAN Acceleration does not require agents, special network setup requirements or the need to add bandwidth.

Learn more about Built-in WAN Acceleration

Built-in WAN acceleration helped us another way too. We put Veeam backup proxies in our remote offices so we can back up VMs in those offices to local storage. We use WAN acceleration to transfer backup copies to our datacenter. Before Veeam’s WAN acceleration, we found it impossible to transfer backup copies from remote offices because of bandwidth restraints. Some of the offices have broadband, but it was weak broadband, and these are 300-600 GB VMs. Veeam gives me peace of mind knowing our remote offices are backed up to the datacenter so I can restore VMs if any office crashes.

Todd Leavitt
IT Manager
PBS Engineering and Environmental Inc.


Veeam Cloud Connect ENHANCED

Fast and secure cloud backup and replication

Get backups and replicas off site without the cost and complexity of building and maintaining an off-site infrastructure. Veeam Cloud Connect provides a fully integrated, fast and secure way to backup, replicate and restore from the cloud.

Simply choose a service provider and point your VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V backups or replica jobs to the cloud. Cloud-based disaster recovery and off-site backup has never been so easy.

A Service Provider? Learn more here
An End User? Learn more here
Large Enterprise? Learn more here

I have hoped & dreamed Veeam would launch something like this and now that it is finally here… WOW!

Rasmus Haslund
Systems Engineer
Arrow Enterprise Computing Solutions

Scale-out Backup Repository

Now you can simplify backup job management and spend less on storage with Scale-out Backup Repository™. Veeam’s Scale-out Backup Repository provides an abstraction layer over individual storage devices to create a single virtual pool of backup storage to which to assign backups. It also offers the freedom to easily extend capacity, as needed, by simply adding additional storage devices to the pool.

This new feature delivers the following benefits:

  • Leverage your storage investments — Unused storage from any storage device, including servers with local or direct-attached storage (DAS), network attached storage (NAS), or deduplication appliances can be added into a single Scale-Out Backup Repository, saving you the costs of acquiring and maintaining new storage devices
  • Simplify backup job management — Backup files can be transparently spread across multiple storage devices of the Scale-out Backup Repository, removing the need to individually assign each job to a specific backup repository – and size each job accordingly. This dramatically simplifies repository capacity management, and allows you to significantly reduce the number of jobs needed to back up your entire environment
  • Improve backup performance — Full and incremental backup files can be assigned to separate storage devices for improved synthetic full backup creation and transformation performance using the backup files placement policy. In addition, different types of backup files can be matched with different types of storage devices according to cost and performance considerations.
Learn more about Scale-out Backup Repository

Learn more! Watch the Scale-out Backup Repository video

Free trial

Veeam Availability Suite v9

No feature limitations for 30 days!

Direct Storage Access ENHANCED

Perform VMware backups faster and with reduced impact on your virtual environment by backing up directly from primary storage instead of retrieving VM data through the hosts. Direct Storage Access comes in two varieties, Direct SAN for Fibre Channel (FC) and iSCSI SAN, and Direct NFS Access for file-based (NFS) storage.

  • Direct SAN Access — VM data is transported directly from FC and iSCSI storage over the SAN fabric for LAN-free processing. Veeam Backup & Replication leverages VMware VADP to retrieve the data from the SAN, allowing you to bypass the virtual environment for the fastest data transfer speed while producing no load on the production network and hosts
  • Direct NFS Access NEW — Retrieve VM data directly from file-based (NFS) storage using Veeam’s proprietary NFS client, providing faster backups with no impact on the hosts. Both NFS v3 and NFS v4.1 storage is supported.
Direct NFS Access with Veeam Availability Suite v9: Technical Overview
Advanced functionality for granular recovery

Native tape support ENHANCED

Long-term retention made easy

Meet your compliance requirements and lengthy archiving policies with native tape support. Archive multiple backup files to tape simultaneously to dramatically improve overall tape performance and increase retention, and save on tape consumption with built-in grandfather-father-son retention. You can archive entire VM backups or regular individual files to tape media and restore your data from tape when needed. Veeam Backup & Replication provides support for virtual tape libraries (VTLs), tape libraries and standalone drives and tracks on-tape files, VMs and restore points, and even support for tape devices without native Windows media changers.

Learn more about Native tape support

Another reason we chose Veeam is because it helps us meet security requirements more efficiently. We’re required to keep tapes of backed up data offsite for a period of time, but storing tapes offsite makes day-to-day VM or file-level recoveries time-consuming because the tapes have to be requested from third-party vendors. With Veeam’s WAN optimization and tape support, we can send our backups across the WAN to Pretoria and offload them to tape once a month. We meet regulatory requirements and can restore VMs faster and easier.

Pieter Kruger
Senior Manager for Hosted Services
PricewaterhouseCoopers South Africa



Veeam’s BitLooker™ technology reduces backup file size and replication bandwidth usage by up to 20% or more, delivering lower backup storage costs and bandwidth usage.

The unique and advanced set of technologies included in BitLooker remove useless chunks of data that congest storage and network resources by excluding:

  • Deleted block files
  • Swap and hibernation files
  • User-specified files and folders
Veeam BitLooker allows you to exclude deleted file blocks and useless files, and save storage space and network bandwidth.
Veeam BitLooker allows you to exclude deleted file blocks and useless files, and save storage space and network bandwidth.

Remote Office / Branch Office (ROBO) SupportENHANCED

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise™

Veeam delivers powerful features designed for growing business environments without adding complexity, offering faster recovery times, added flexibility and scalability.

Veeam Backup & Replication is available as a standalone console NEW that users can install on their workstations providing added convenience, ease-of-use, and forever eliminating RDP sessions to a backup server. Remote Office / Branch Office (ROBO) enhancements help growing enterprises improve backup and recovery times, while reducing WAN bandwidth consumption, by keeping backup and restore activities local to remote sites.

Learn more

Backup from NetApp SnapMirror and SnapVault

Backup from NetApp SnapMirror and SnapVault eliminates the additional impact from backup activities on your production storage, by retrieving VM data from SnapMirror or SnapVault secondary storage systems, instead of from primary storage.

End-to-end encryption

Flexible security for backups

Secure your backup data with end-to-end AES 256 encryption — at source (during backup), in-flight and at rest — all without any negative impact on built-in compression and WAN Acceleration. Even if the password is lost, you can still recover data from encrypted backup files without compromising security.

You also have flexibility over when and where you choose to leverage encryption. For example, you can leave local backups unencrypted for faster backup and restore performance, but encrypt backups that are copied to an off-site target or to tape. You can also protect different backups with different passwords, while actual encryption keys are generated randomly within each session for added security.

Learn more about end-to-end encryption

Dell EMC Data Domain Boost support ENHANCED

Get ready for faster backups!

With Dell EMC Data Domain Boost™ you get source-side data deduplication, yielding faster, more efficient backups that enable lower RPO and lower exposure to data loss. The benefits of combining Veeam Backup & Replication with Dell EMC Data Domain Boost include:

  • Up to 50% faster backup performance
  • Data in-flight encryption over the WAN NEW
  • 10x faster synthetic full backup file creation and transformation for even shorter backup windows
  • Fibre Channel connectivity enabling LAN-free backup to Data Domain
Learn more about Dell EMC Data Domain Boost support

Veeam ran a synthetic full backup without Dell EMC Data Domain Boost taking 2 hours and 54 minutes, with Boost it took 11 minutes and 27 seconds, almost 16 times faster.

Adam Armstrong
Writer for

Free trial

Veeam Availability Suite v9

No feature limitations for 30 days!

HPE StoreOnce Catalyst

With HPE StoreOnce Catalyst you get enhanced backup performance, reduced backup costs, and a simplified backup environment. Veeam and HPE StoreOnce Catalyst combine to deliver these benefits through the following:

  • Source-side deduplication — Instead of having all the data from a backup server transferred over the network to a deduplication appliance, HPE Catalyst data can be deduplicated on the Veeam backup proxy itself before the data is transferred. This reduces the amount of data transferred over the network and increases backup performance over slower networks
  • Accelerated synthetic full backup creation — You can also synthesize full backup files within HPE StoreOnce without physically moving the data, and instead just updating the pointers to existing data – thus accelerating synthetic full backup creation and transformation operations in backup and Backup Copy jobs by up to 10x

Finally, thanks to this integration, you can expect general improved restore performance in all restore scenarios.

Advanced functionality for granular recovery

Built-in compression and Deduplication

Save cost without sacrificing performance

To decrease network traffic and disk space required for storing backup files, Veeam Backup & Replication includes compression and deduplication at no extra charge. Deduplication only transfers the data you need across the network. Veeam allows you to choose from four different options, based on VM size and type of backup target, so you can optimize backup size and job performance. Veeam also offers five levels of compression that allow you to find the right balance of storage consumption, job duration and backup proxy load — including dedupe-friendly compression designed for storage devices with built-in deduplication.

Learn more about built-in compression and deduplication

With Veeam’s data deduplication, the backup window shrunk, and the amount of backup storage required decreased substantially as well. Now we save approximately $50,000 each year on backup storage costs because of Veeam.

Barry Stewart
IT Manager
Prairie South School Division

Deduplicating storage performance improvements

In addition to improvements for Dell EMC and HPE deduplication appliances, Veeam Backup & Replication now provides capabilities that will bring performance improvements to ANY deduplicating storage:

  • Per-VM backup file chains leverages parallel VM processing so that you can enable multiple write streams to the deduplication appliance, on a per-VM basis instead of a per-backup job basis, giving you up to 10x faster backup performance
  • Active full backups with backup copy jobs reduce data rehydration on deduplication appliances, increasing local backup copy performance and reducing the load on the deduplication appliance itself.

Other product features:

Watch product demo

Live or recorded session
with a Veeam System Engineer

Try now

Put Veeam in your lab

How to buy

Licensing options,
pricing and packaging