SureBackup roles

KB ID:
1066
Product:
Veeam Backup & Replication
Version:
5.x
Published:
Last Modified:
2015-05-12

Challenge

What do Sure Backup roles mean and what are the differences among them.

Solution

When creating a SureBackup job or an Application group you are able to select a specific role for each VM.

User-added image

DNS Server role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 300 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 53

================================
Domain Controller role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 1800 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 389

================================
Global Catalog role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 1800 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 3268

================================
Mail Server role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 1800 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 25

================================
SQL Server role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 1800 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 1433

================================
WEB Server role changes default SB job settings to:

Amount of memory to allocate to VM - 100%
Maximum allowed boot time - 300 sec
Application initialization timeout 120 sec

Heartbeat test - enabled
Ping test - enabled 

Telnet to VM_IP on port 80 or

=================================

In addition if the Global Catalog or Domain Controller roles are selected for the VM, then the following modification will be done in the registry:

 

Veeam sets global BurFlags registry key located inHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NtFrs\Parameters\Backup/Restore\Process at Startup to d4

That means an authoritative restore mode will be activated.

Please refer to support.microsoft.com/kb/290762 for details.


In case when more than one role is selected - the "Maximum allowed boot time" values will accumulate and the total size will be used. If the user modifies the "Maximum allowed boot time" value, then the greatest value will be selected. 

Rate the quality of this KB article: 
4.1 out of 5 based on 7 ratings

Couldn't find what you were looking for?

Below you can submit an idea for a new knowledge base article.

Report a typo on this page:

Please select a spelling error or a typo on this page with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter to report this mistake to us. Thank you!

Spelling error in text:

Submit