The logging level needs to be changed.
Logging level is changed by altering the value of the DWORD ‘LoggingLevel’ on the Veeam server in the registry key: HKLM\Software\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication.
In Version 8.x and earlier, after changing the value, the Veeam Backup Service must be restarted. Make sure no jobs or restores are running before restarting this service. In Version 9.x, the Veeam Backup Service periodically rescans the registry. The logging level will adjust automatically after no more than 15 minutes.
This value can be modified from 1-6. (6 being the highest)
- Logging level: [1 (LowDetailed)]
- Logging level: [2 (BelowNormal)]
- Logging level: [3 (Normal)]
- Logging level: [4 (AboveNormal)]*
- Logging level: [5 (HighDetailed)]
- Logging level: [6 (UltimateDetailed)]
*The value of 4 for the LoggingLevel DWORD is the default setting.
Increasing the LoggingLevel value increases details in the logs along with the general size of the logs. By that same token, the LoggingLevel value can also be reduced to lower the disk load on the location the log files are being written to.
Please be aware that we’re making changes which will restrict access to product updates for users without an active contract.