成功案例的完整列表 >
Imperial Tobacco 凭借 Veeam 超越 RPO 和 RTO
Imperial Tobacco Australia

Imperial Tobacco 凭借 Veeam 超越 RPO 和 RTO

Veeam Backup & Replication 是在安装后能够立即让人带来惊喜的罕 见卓越解决方案之一。我已经在这个行业中工作超过 15 年,我还没有 看到哪一款产品能够像 Veeam 一样让我感到如此惊喜。

公司:

Imperial Tobacco 是一家领先的 国际烟草公司,其产品销往 160 多个国家/地区。Imperial Tobacco 拥有员工 36,000 名, 并在世界各地经营 46 家制造工 厂。

行业:

制造

挑战:

使用传统的备份工具进行备份和 恢复不可靠;因此,无法满足 RPO 和 RTO。

结果:

  • 备份和恢复快速、简单且可靠
  • 轻松满足并超越 RPO 和 RTO
  • 快速发现和恢复应用项

业务挑战

自 Imperial Tobacco 1901 年在英国成立以来,技术、商业和社会发生了翻天 覆地的变化。1999 年,当 Imperial Tobacco Australia 在悉尼附近成立第一家 办事处以来,技术继续向前发展突飞猛进,尤其是在数据中心领域。如今, 已经针对 Imperial Tobacco Australia 拥有的几乎每台物理服务器根据 VMware vSphere 进行了虚拟化。现在,拥有超过 100 台虚拟机 (VM) 运行对企业而言 至关重要的每个应用程序。

与许多公司一样,Imperial Tobacco Australia 尝试使用其传统的备份工具来备 份和恢复虚拟机。尽管传统的备份工具可以成功备份和恢复公司的物理机, 但要备份和恢复虚拟机仍然具有很大难度。根据 Imperial Tobacco Australia 高 级系统工程师 Brett Monaghan 所述,问题已经产生不利影响:IT 团队不能保 证成功备份和恢复,这就意味着不能满足恢复点目标和恢复时间目标(RPO 和 RTO)。

“似乎我们利用传统的备份工具永远都会出现问题,并且进行排除故障会浪 费我太多的时间,”Monaghan 解释。“我以前每天会花费三到四个小时尝 试利用传统的备份工具来提供可靠的备份,但几乎不可能实现。”

“我们位于美国的分公司利用相同的传统备份工具也遇到了同样的问题。现 在,他们使用专为虚拟化设计的解决方案取代传统的备份工具,并建议我尝 试使用这种全新的解决方案。在理想的情况下,我要确定使用功能强大的解 决方案,并立即停止使用传统的备份工具。并且,我不想每天花费大量的时 间来调整备份工具。”

Veeam 解决方案

正如 Imperial Tobacco Australia 可以证明,Veeam® Backup & Replication™ 能够 满足理想情况下的各种业务需求。

“建立 Veeam 解决方案之后,您便无须再多加烦恼,”Monaghan 说。“Veeam Backup & Replication 是在安装后能够立即让人带来惊喜的罕见卓越解决方案 之一。我已经在这个行业中工作超过 15 年,我还没有看到哪一款产品能够 像 Veeam 一样让我感到如此惊喜。”

“例如,我以前经常花费一半的工作时间来排除使用我们的传统备份工具所 带来的问题。现在,使用 Veeam,我每天花费不到 30 分钟来查看 Veeam 自 动向我发送的有关备份状态的电子邮件。这样,我就能够及时知道 Veeam 是 否成功备份我们的虚拟机。使用传统的备份工具,我通常需要花费大量的时 间来解决运行已失败的备份作业,并且还需要重新运行。”

“Veeam 给我的另一个惊喜是备份速度,”Monaghan 继续说。“利用我 们的传统备份工具完成第一个完整备份需要 16 至 17 个小时。但是,利用 Veeam 却只需要两至三个小时。这就是两者之间的巨大差别。Veeam 不但 速度更快、更可靠且功能更多,而且价格比其竞争对争更实惠。我们使用 Veeam 的每年维护费用比使用传统备份工具的每年维护费用少 60%。这同样 也是两者之间的巨大差别。”

Veeam Backup & Replication 能够同时为 VMware vSphere 和 Microsoft Hyper-V 环境提供功能强大、易于使用且经济实惠的虚拟化应用程序和数据备份和恢 复功能。Imperial Tobacco 已经在其位于法国、荷兰、挪威、波兰、俄罗斯、 西班牙、英国和美国的办事处和分公司使用 Veeam。

使用 Veeam,Imperial Tobacco Australia 能够满足并超越 RPO 和 RTO。

备份速度非常快,公司使用 Veeam 可以每天(而不只是工作日)更频繁地 进行备份 — 为 IT 团队提供更多恢复点选项来满足 RPO。公司凭借 Veeam 的 Instant VM Recovery® 满足并超越 RTO,该功能可以在几分钟内从备份开始恢 复发生故障的虚拟机。在未来,Imperial Tobacco Australia 将使用 Veeam 从其 数据中心将虚拟机复制到灾难恢复 (DR) 站点,从而能够随时为公司提供每台 虚拟机的副本。Veeam 复制功能可以提供接近连续的数据保护 (near-CDP) 以 实现最佳的 RPO 和 RTO 价值。

要每次验证每个备份的可恢复性,Imperial Tobacco Australia 可以使用 Veeam 的 SureBackup® 通过在隔离的 Virtual Lab 中运行备份来进行自动测试。在使用 Veeam 之前,使用传统的备份工具无法在合理的时间内完成测试备份的可恢 复性,甚至是一小部分的备份。使用 SureBackup,可以自动验证备份的可恢 复性作为备份过程的一部分,并且只需要启动虚拟机所需的时间。

要在 Microsoft Exchange 中快速还原单个项目,公司可以使用适用于 Microsoft Exchange 的 Veeam Explorer™ 全面查看 Exchange 备份,从而快速恢复电子邮 件、备注和联系人等。使用传统的备份工具,还原 Exchange 项目需要长达 30 分钟的时间。但是,使用 Veeam,只需要两到三分钟的时间。

“利用 Veeam 的好处是,我们将会在 IT 领域取得更大的成功并最终实现卓越 的可靠性,”Monaghan 说。

结果

备份和恢复快速、简单且可靠

与 Imperial Tobacco Australia 使用的传统备份工具相比,使用 Veeam Backup & Replication 的备份速度快 82% 且恢复速度快 75%。Veeam 使用简单且可靠, 因此 IT 团队验证备份只需要几秒钟,而不是几个小时。

轻松满足并超越 RPO 和 RTO

使用 Veeam Backup & Replication,Imperial Tobacco Australia 可以通过快速频 繁的备份和即时恢复满足并超越 RPO 和 RTO。“Veeam 能够让我们以 100% 的信心成功备份虚拟机,而且还能确实地恢复,”Monaghan 说。

快速发现和恢复应用项

使用适用于 Microsoft Exchange 的 Veeam Explorer,不需要提供额外的存储 设备或还原整个邮箱存储的内容。相反,Imperial Tobacco Australia 会选择 Exchange 虚拟机和还原点,并且 Veeam Explorer 能够显示这些邮箱存储的内 容以便浏览、搜索和导出。

Rating: 0 / 5 ( 0 votes cast)

为什么选择 Veeam?

立即试用

如何购买

为什么选择 Veeam 解决方案

Veeam Backup & Replication
开始您的 30 天免费试用
许可和如何购买

Full list of Success Stories >
Imperial Tobacco Exceeds RPOs and RTOs with Veeam
Imperial Tobacco Australia

Imperial Tobacco Exceeds RPOs and RTOs with Veeam

Veeam Backup & Replication is one of those rare solutions that surprises you right out of the box. I’ve been in the industry for more than 15 years, and I haven’t seen a product that has surprised me as much as Veeam has.

Company:

Imperial Tobacco is a leading international tobacco company that sells its products in more than 160 countries. Imperial Tobacco employs 36,000 people and operates 46 manufacturing sites worldwide.

Industry:

Manufacturing

Challenge:

Backup and recovery were unreliable with the legacy backup tool; therefore, RPOs and RTOs could not be met.

results:

  • Backup and recovery are fast, easy and reliable
  • RPOs and RTOs are effortless to meet and exceed
  • Application items are discovered and recovered quickly

The Business Challenge

Since Imperial Tobacco began in England in 1901, dramatic changes have taken place in technology, commerce and society. When Imperial Tobacco Australia opened its first office near Sydney in 1999, technology continued to advance dramatically, especially in the data centre. Today, nearly every physical server at Imperial Tobacco Australia has been virtualised on VMware vSphere. More than 100 virtual machines (VMs) run every application that is critical to the business.

Like many companies, Imperial Tobacco Australia tried using its legacy backup tool to back up and recover VMs. While the legacy tool backed up and recovered the company’s physical machines successfully, it struggled to back up and recover VMs. According to Brett Monaghan, Senior Infrastructure Engineer at Imperial Tobacco Australia, the problem was detrimental: The IT team couldn’t guarantee successful backup and recovery, which meant it couldn’t meet recovery point and recovery time objectives (RPOs and RTOs).

“It seemed we were forever having problems with the legacy backup tool, and troubleshooting took way too much of my time,” Monaghan explained. “I used to spend three to four hours a day trying to get the legacy tool to deliver reliable backups, but it was nearly impossible.

“Our sister company in the United States had used the same legacy backup tool and encountered the same problems. It replaced the legacy tool with a solution designed specifically for virtualisation and suggested I try it. In a perfect world, I want to set up a solution and forget about it. I don’t want to spend hours each day tweaking it.”

The Veeam Solution

As Imperial Tobacco Australia can attest, Veeam® Backup & Replication™ meets the requirements for a perfect world.

“You set Veeam up and forget about it,” Monaghan said. “Veeam Backup & Replication is one of those rare solutions that surprises you right out of the box. I’ve been in the industry for more than 15 years, and I haven’t seen a product that has surprised me as much as Veeam has.”

“For example, I used to spend up to half my workday troubleshooting problems with our legacy backup tool. With Veeam, I spend fewer than 30 minutes each day looking over the automated email Veeam sends me about backup status. I know straightaway if Veeam backed up our VMs successfully. With the legacy backup tool, I used to spend a significant amount of time working out which backup jobs had failed and needed to be rerun.”

“Another surprise about Veeam is backup speed,” Monaghan continued. “The first full backup with our legacy tool took 16 to 17 hours. With Veeam it took two to three hours. That’s a huge difference. Veeam is faster, more reliable, has more features and is less expensive than its competitors. Our yearly maintenance fee with Veeam is 60% less than the legacy backup tool. That’s a huge difference as well.”

Veeam Backup & Replication provides powerful, easy-to-use and affordable backup and recovery of virtualised applications and data for VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V. Veeam is used in Imperial Tobacco offices and affiliates in France, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russia, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States.

With Veeam, Imperial Tobacco Australia is meeting and exceeding RPOs and RTOs.

Backup is so fast with Veeam that the company is backing up more frequently—everyday rather than only weekdays—giving the IT team more recovery point options to meets RPOs. The company meets and exceeds RTOs with Veeam’s Instant VM Recovery®, which starts a failed VM from a backup in minutes. In the future, Imperial Tobacco Australia will use Veeam to replicate VMs from its data centre to a disaster recovery (DR) site, giving the company copies of every VM in a ready-to-start state. Veeam replication provides near-continuous data protection (near-CDP) for the very best RPO and RTO values.

To verify the recoverability of every backup every time, Imperial Tobacco Australia will use Veeam’s SureBackup®, which automatically tests backups by running them in an isolated Virtual Lab. Before Veeam, testing the recoverability of a backup with the legacy backup tool couldn’t be completed in a reasonable timeframe on even a small subset of backups. With SureBackup, verifying the recoverability of backups can be automated as part of the backup process and takes only the time required to power on the VMs.

To quickly restore individual items in Microsoft Exchange, the company will use Veeam Explorer™ for Microsoft Exchange, which provides instant visibility into Exchange backups for quick recovery of emails, notes, contacts, etc. With the legacy tool, restoring Exchange items took up to 30 minutes. With Veeam, it takes only two to three minutes.

“Our success in IT begins and ends with reliability, which is where Veeam shines,” Monaghan said.

The Results

Backup and recovery are fast, easy and reliable
Compared to the legacy backup tool used by Imperial Tobacco Australia, backup with Veeam Backup & Replication is 82% faster and recovery is 75% faster. Veeam is so easy to use and reliable that the IT team spends seconds verifying backups rather than hours.

RPOs and RTOs are effortless to meet and exceed
With Veeam Backup & Replication, Imperial Tobacco Australia meets and exceeds RPOs and RTOs through fast, frequent backup and instant recovery. “Veeam gives us 100% confidence that our VMs backed up successfully and are recoverable,” Monaghan said.

Application items are discovered and recovered quickly
With Veeam Explorer for Microsoft Exchange, there’s no need to provision storage or restore entire mailbox stores. Instead, Imperial Tobacco Australia chooses the Exchange VMs and restore points, and Veeam Explorer presents the contents of those mailbox stores for browsing, searching and export.

Rating: 5 / 5 ( 3 votes cast)

Why Veeam?

Try now

How to buy

Why choose Veeam solutions

Veeam Backup & Replication
free 30-day trial
Licensing and buying options