成功案例的完整列表 >
非盈利医疗保健组织因为 4 小时灾难恢复而 信任 Veeam Availability Suite
Haven of Hope Christian Service

非盈利医疗保健组织因为 4 小时灾难恢复而 信任 Veeam Availability Suite

Veeam 的主要优势是备份性能和快速可恢复性 … 如果我们遇到灾难情况,我们 知道我们可以使用 Veeam,在四小时内恢复我们的关键数据和应用程序。

公司:

Haven of Hope Christian Service (HOHCS) 是一个非盈利组织,向 香港居民提供医疗和社会援助。 HOHCS 于 1953 年由传教士创立, 目前它经营着 50 多个设施,有 大约 1,000 名员工。

行业:

医疗保健

挑战:

传统备份工具的诸多限制影响了 虚拟数据和应用程序的可用性。 只能使用本地备份且无法使用复 制,HOHCS 在遇到数据中心故障 时会非常脆弱。没有粒度恢复, 只能通过执行完整虚拟机还原来 部分修复数据丢失,并且只能通 过还原来验证备份的完整性。由 于监控功能有限且无报告功能, 因此传统备份工具几乎无法查看 虚拟基础架构。

解决方案:

Veeam Availability Suite

结果:

  • 新灾难恢复策略能够在四小 时内完全恢复操作
  • 虚拟实验室可验证备份可恢 复性及测试软件更新
  • 全面查看备份和虚拟基础架 构改善了管理

业务挑战

在过去的 60 年期间,Haven of Hope Christian Service 经历了无数变迁。它刚开 始时只是设在石板上的一个临时诊所,志愿者在这里为难民提供医疗护理。今 天,HOHCS 已成为一家蓬勃发展的服务型企业,在 50 多个地点提供老年人、康复、 医疗保健、家庭和福音传道服务。

为了支持向数千人提供的服务,HOHCS 建立了一个现代化数据中心和灾难恢复 (DR) 站点。如今,他们 90% 的环境都在 VMware vSphere ESXi 上虚拟化,数据中心和灾难 恢复站点大约托管了 55 个虚拟机 (VM),它们运行着诸如 Epicor 企业资源规划 (ERP) 软件和 Microsoft Exchange 等关键系统。

过去两年间,HOHCS 的数据已经从 100TB 增长至三倍,即 300TB。组织备份不断增长 数据的能力有限,并且如果无法复制,灾难恢复将非常棘手。在建立灾难恢复站点之 前,只能在数据中心本地备份虚拟机。如果出现重大硬件或软件故障,或者数据中心 变得不可用,将没有任何方法来快速恢复操作。此外,HOHCS 无法还原单个文件,或 验证是否已经成功完成备份,除非尝试从它进行还原这种方法可行。组织在 vSphere 中的监控和报告功能也有限。

VEEAM 解决方案

HOHCS 将其备份工具替换为 Veeam® Availability Suite™,以便扩大备份,创建新灾难 恢复策略,改善可用性并管理其虚拟环境。

使用 Veeam,可本地和异地备份虚拟机,并且可将备份副本发送到灾难恢复站点。还 可以异地复制虚拟机以进行灾难恢复。

“Veeam 的主要优势是备份性能和快速可恢复性,”HOHCS 的 IT 高级执行经理 Calvin Chow 说。“我们每天的增量备份时间从六小时降到三小时,我们一周备份 所用时间从 48 小时降到 24 小时。如果我们遇到灾难情况,我们知道我们可以使用 Veeam,在四小时内恢复我们的关键数据和应用程序。”

Veeam Availability Suite 提供高速恢复、接近连续的数据保护、高效的灾难恢复及经 过验证的备份可恢复性,能够创建生产环境的精确副本以便对计划更改进行预部署 验证,在 IT 环境中监控和警报以便在对最终用户产生重大影响之前揭示问题所在,并 且可全面查看虚拟和 Veeam 备份基础架构及优化和容量规划。

自实施 Veeam Availability Suite 以来,HOHCS 完成了使用原来的备份工具所无法完成的 每一件事情,包括异地备份和复制、粒度恢复、恢复验证及监控、报告和容量规划。

例如,HOHCS 使用 Veeam Explorer™ for Microsoft Exchange 可即时查看 Exchange 备份 并在数分钟内恢复个别电子邮件和邮箱。为了自动验证每一个备份的可恢复性,HOHCS 使用了 Veeam SureBackup®。Veeam 设置了一个称为 Virtual Lab(虚拟实验室)的隔离 测试环境,管理员可在其中验证某个备份是否可恢复。他们也在 On-Demand Sandbox™ 的虚拟实验室中计划进行软件补丁和更新测试,然后将它们应用到生产环境中。

Veeam Availability Suite 还通过高级监控、报告和容量规划让 HOHCS 可以全面查看虚 拟环境,从而使 IT 人员可以在影响运行和用户之前发现并解决问题。

“Veeam 提供非常清晰且全面的仪表板,可让我们了解备份性能如何,”Chow 说。“我 们以前的备份工具中找不到类似的功能。这对 IT 人员全面了解我们的基础架构非常重 要。仪表板是让我印象最深刻的功能之一,一个很简单的仪表板为我们提供了足够的信 息,既有实时信息也有历史信息,能够从备份或恢复的角度识别存在的任何风险。”

Chow 说他也非常喜欢 Veeam 的容量规划功能。

“去年,我们增加了虚拟机和存储设备的数量,”他解释道。“Veeam 向我们提供了 CPU 功率和存储相关分析,从而可预测 IT 基础架构要求。”

结果

新灾难恢复策略能够在四小时内完全恢复操作
使用 Veeam Availability Suite,HOHCS 将备份时间降低一半,并且增加了异地 备份和复制用于灾难恢复。现在,如果出现重大硬件或软件故障,或者如果 数据中心变得不可用,HOHCS 可以在四小时内恢复关键数据和应用程序。

虚拟实验室可验证备份可恢复性及测试软件更新
为了保证数据的可恢复性,Veeam 在生产环境外创建了一个隔离的虚拟实验 室,在其中可通过 SureBackup 技术验证备份作业的完整性。

全面查看备份和虚拟基础架构改善了管理
Veeam Availability Suite 让 HOHCS 能够通过集成的监控、先进的警报和自动 化报告功能全面查看 vSphere。通过全面查看,HOHCS 能够快速确定并解决 问题,并且能够提前知道备份磁盘空间什么时候即将用尽。此外,Veeam 还 会分析使用趋势,并提供容量规划配置建议。

Rating: 5 / 5 ( 1 votes cast)

为什么选择 Veeam?

立即试用

如何购买

为什么选择 Veeam 解决方案

Veeam Availability Suite
开始您的 30 天免费试用
许可和如何购买

Full list of Success Stories >
Not-for-Profit Healthcare Organisation Trusts Veeam Availability Suite for 4-hour DR
Haven of Hope Christian Service

Not-for-Profit Healthcare Organisation Trusts Veeam Availability Suite for 4-hour DR

The major benefits of Veeam are backup performance and quick recoverability … If we experience a disaster situation, we know we can recover our critical data and applications in four hours with Veeam.

Company:

Haven of Hope Christian Service (HOHCS) is a not-for-profit organisation providing medical and social assistance and services to the residents of Hong Kong. Founded in 1953 by missionaries, HOHCS operates more than 50 facilities and employs approximately 1,000 staff.

Industry:

Healthcare

Challenge:

The legacy backup tool had several limitations that affected availability of virtualised data and applications. With only onsite backup and no replication, HOHCS was vulnerable in the event of a data centre outage. Without granular recovery, data loss could only be partly remedied by carrying out full VM restoration, and the integrity of backups could only be verified through restoration. With limited monitoring and no reporting, the legacy backup tool provided almost no visibility of the virtual infrastructure.

results:

  • New DR strategy enables operations to be fully resumed in four hours
  • Virtual Lab verifies backup recoverability and tests software updates
  • Complete visibility of backup and virtual infrastructures improves management

The Business Challenge

During the past 60 years, Haven of Hope Christian Service has undergone many changes. It began as a makeshift clinic on a stone slab where volunteers offered medical care for the refugees. Today, HOHCS is a flourishing, service-oriented enterprise providing elderly, rehabilitation, healthcare, family and evangelistic services in more than 50 locations.

To support services provided to thousands of people, HOHCS built a modern data centre and disaster recovery (DR) site. Today, 90 percent of their environment is virtualised on VMware vSphere ESXi, and the data centre and DR site host approximately 55 virtual machines (VMs) that run key systems such as Epicor Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software and Microsoft Exchange.

In the past two years, HOHCS’s data has trebled from 100TBs to 300TBs. The organisation’s ability to back up the growing amount of data was limited and DR was tricky without replication. Prior to the DR site being built, VMs could only be backed up onsite in the data centre. There was no way to resume operations rapidly in the event of a major hardware or software failure, or if the data centre became unavailable. Furthermore, HOHCS wasn’t able to restore individual files or verify that a backup had been completed successfully, other than by attempting to restore from it. The organisation also had limited monitoring and reporting in vSphere.

The Veeam Solution

HOHCS replaced its backup tool with Veeam® Availability Suite™ to broaden backup, create a new DR strategy, improve availability and manage its virtual environment. With Veeam, VMs are backed up onsite and offsite, and backup copies are sent to the DR site. VMs are also replicated offsite for DR.

“The major benefits of Veeam are backup performance and quick recoverability,” said Calvin Chow, Senior Executive Manager of IT at HOHCS. “Our daily incremental backups decreased from six hours to three hours, and our full weekly backups decreased from 48 hours to 24 hours. If we experience a disaster situation, we know we can recover our critical data and applications in four hours with Veeam.”

Veeam Availability Suite provides high-speed recovery, near-continuous data protection, streamlined DR, verified recoverability of backups, the ability to create an exact copy of the production environment for pre-deployment verification of planned changes, monitoring and alerting that reveal issues in the IT environment before they have significant impact on end users, complete visibility of the virtual and Veeam backup infrastructures and optimisation and capacity planning.

Since implementing Veeam Availability Suite, HOHCS has accomplished everything it couldn’t accomplish with its original backup tool including offsite backup and replication, granular recovery, recovery verification, and monitoring, reporting and capacity planning.

For example, HOHCS uses Veeam Explorer™ for Microsoft Exchange to gain instant visibility into Exchange backups and recover individual emails and mailboxes in minutes. To automatically verify the recoverability of every backup, HOHCS uses Veeam SureBackup®. Veeam sets up an isolated test environment called a Virtual Lab in which IT administrators can verify if a backup is recoverable. They are also planning to test software patches and updates in the Virtual Lab before putting them into production using On- Demand Sandbox™.

Veeam Availability Suite also provides HOHCS with complete visibility of the virtual environment through advanced monitoring, reporting and capacity planning, enabling the IT staff to detect and resolve issues before they impact operations and users. “Veeam provides very clear and comprehensive dashboards that inform us about backup performance,” Chow said. “We could not find something similar in our previous backup tool. It is essential for our IT staff to understand our infrastructure holistically. Dashboards are one of the features that impress me the most — a fairly simple dashboard provides us with enough information, both real-time and historical, to identify any risk from a backup or recovery perspective.”

Chow said he appreciates Veeam’s capacity planning capabilities too.

“In the past year we increased the number of VMs and storage,” he explained. “Veeam provides us with analysis regarding CPU power and storage to forecast IT infrastructure requirements.”

The Results

New DR strategy enables operations to be fully resumed in four hours
Using Veeam Availability Suite, HOHCS cut backup time in half and added offsite backup and replication for DR. Now HOHCS can recover critical data and applications in four hours in the event of a major hardware or software failure, or if the data centre becomes unavailable.

Virtual Lab verifies backup recoverability and tests software updates
To guarantee recoverability of data, Veeam creates an isolated Virtual Lab outside of the production environment in which it validates the integrity of backup jobs through SureBackup technology.

Complete visibility of backup and virtual infrastructures improves management
Veeam Availability Suite gives HOHCS complete visibility of vSphere through integrated monitoring, advanced alerting and automated reporting. With complete visibility, HOHCS identifies and resolves issues quickly and knows ahead of time when backup disks are getting full. Veeam also analyses usage trends and offers provisioning recommendations for capacity planning.

Rating: 5 / 5 ( 8 votes cast)

Why Veeam?

Try now

How to buy

Why choose Veeam solutions

Veeam Availability Suite
free 30-day trial
Licensing and buying options