Starting a new backup chain

KB ID: 2258
Version: 1.x
Published: 2017-03-09
Last Modified: 2020-08-13
Get weekly article updates
By subscribing, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Policy.

Cheers for trusting us with the spot in your mailbox!

Now you’re less likely to miss what’s been brewing in our knowledge base with this weekly digest

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

Challenge

You need to start a new backup chain for an existing job in Veeam Agent for Linux (VAL).

Cause

It will be necessary to remove the information about the existing backup chain from the database.

Before you begin, make sure the destination has enough storage space for a new backup chain.

Solution

1. Find the ID of the backup you would like to remove by running
veeamconfig backup list

User-added image

2. Remove the backup in question from VAL database by running
veeamconfig backup delete  --id <backup ID>

Example: 
veeamconfig backup delete  --id 8bee996a-ffbf-4770-b146-067abb1ac1b1

If the job was targeted at a Veeam Backup & Replication (VBR) repository, you can also delete the backup from the database in Veeam Backup & Replication console:

User-added image

Once the backup is removed from the configuration of VAL and VBR (if needed), you can run the job manually or by schedule. On the next session, the job will start a new backup chain with a full backup file. Afterwards the chain will be populated with increments as usual. If you keep the existing backup files in the same location, the job will create a subdirectory for new backups. The new backups are named based on the following pattern: "HostName JobName_N", where HostName is the name of the backup up machine, JobName is the name you gave to the job, and N is a whole number (starting with 1).

If you do not need to keep the existing backup files, you can also use the --purge flag to delete them permanently:
 
veeamconfig backup delete  --id 8bee996a-ffbf-4770-b146-067abb1ac1b1 --purge

If the job is targeted at a VBR repository, you can also delete the backup from the disk in VBR console:

User-added image

If you need to keep the existing backup files but do not want a new subdirectory to be used, perform the following steps:

1.  Check where the job in question runs its backups to:
User-added image

2. Navigate to destination with standard Linux command-line utilities or tools of your choice, and move the existing backup subdirectory to another location or rename it. 

On the next session, the job will re-create the backup subdirectory and start a new backup chain with a full backup file, afterwards the chain will be populated with increments as usual.

 
Click here to send feedback regarding this KB, or suggest content for a new KB.
To report a typo on this page, highlight the typo with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter.

Spelling error in text

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

KB Feedback/Suggestion

This form is only for KB Feedback/Suggestions, if you need help with the software open a support case

By submitting, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Policy.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Verify your email to continue your product download
We've sent a verification code to:
  • Incorrect verification code. Please try again.
An email with a verification code was just sent to
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend in sec
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.