销售热线: +86-10-5643-8388 | 09:00 - 18:00(北京时间 ) | 中文、英文
中文(简体)

国投瑞银基金管理有限公司

Company:

国投瑞银基金管理有限公司是中国 第一家外方持股比例达到最高上限 的合资基金管理公司,在银河证券 发布的《2012 年下半年基金公司 股票投资主动管理能力综合评价报 告》中,在参评的67家基金公司中 位列前十。全体员工251人左右, 其中IT人员17人。

Challenge:

如何安全有效地保存数据,使备份 数据实时可控,并能实现数据的有 效性验证。

Results:

  • 降低运维难度、提升运维 效率
  • 降低业务数据丢失的风险, 保证了数据和业务的可用性
  • 减少构建备份系统的一次性 投入

业务挑战

中国传统的金融行业正在经历一场由大数据引发的变革,在这场变革中,作为 金融行业核心资产的数据,将发挥意想不到的效能。2016年,相关监管机构对 基金行业的数据交换、备份、登记平台提出了更加苛刻的要求,传统的数据管 理方法俨然不足以应对来自监管层和用户层的双重考验。

鉴于国投瑞银的投资管理能力已经在业界奠定了良好的口碑,来自信息系统方 面的数据安全保障能力必须实现稳步提升。“设备老旧的问题促使业务系统面 临很大压力,双机热备方案并不能一劳永逸,在一些特定情况下,由于宕机导 致双机热备方案最终与双机冷备方案效果雷同,出现故障时不会自动接管, 需手动开启硬件和服务。”国投瑞银基金管理有限公司信息技术部运维工程师 邱定勇负责内部IT的运维和管理,为保证系统安全和业务连续性,传统的数据 管理策略缺乏自动化运维能力,需要作出相应调整。

据邱定勇透露,国投瑞银正在筹备建设“双活数据中心”。区别于一个数据中 心、一个灾备中心的模式,“双活数据中心”采用一主一备这种方式,两个数 据中心都是在线运行的,如果断了一个数据中心,另外一个数据中心还能够正 常运行,对用户来说是不可感知的,业务几乎不受影响。通过资源整合,“双 活”数据中心的服务能力是双倍的,从而避免了一个数据中心常年处于闲置 状态而造成浪费。除了“双活数据中心”,国投瑞银也将拟建一个灾备数据 中心,邱定勇谈到,目前正在打通网络层面,之后将面临更加繁重的数据备份 工作。

在金融行业,对于数据中心的需求往往体现在低延迟、实时数据、高频交易、 数据安全、业务连续/灾难恢复等方面,而在数据备份和恢复方面,若不能抢 占时间优势,对于金融机构而言显然是不合理的,在非交易时间造成的损失或 许没有那么明显,在交易时间,每一分钟的延迟都意味着巨大的金融损失。 告别基于传统的虚拟化环境上的数据备份方案,在优化企业传统 IT 环境的基 础上选择更符合业务发展需要的解决方案,成为了国投瑞银需要优先考量的价 值点。

Veeam 解决方案

在国投瑞银数据中心,有大约80台物理服务器,将这些物理服务器上的数据和 系统系数迁移到虚拟机上还需要有一个过程。尽管如此,随着业务量的激增, 对于数据的备份和恢复,无论是从备份效率上,还是从数据可靠性方面,国投 瑞银对于服务提供商提出了较为严苛的要求。

经过全面的验证,国投瑞银最终选用 Veeam® Backup & Replication™,在这套解 决方案中,诸如即时虚拟机恢复、应用项恢复、文件级恢复、自动恢复验证、 无需部署或维护代理、单一备份、综合完整备份、复制、Hyper-V 支持、成本 等功能均在项目实施过程中发挥了立竿见影的功效。

“有很多企业正在逐步将他们的核心业务迁移到虚拟化环境里面,数据可以 备份,但系统却没法备份,在我们考量的诸多解决方案中,Veeam 的解决方案 是最好的。无论是其流畅的备份压缩消重技术,还是数据的可靠性方面,都为 我们节省了宝贵的时间和精力。金融行业强调资源配置效率,对于 Veeam 的 产品和服务,我们没有任何异议。”国投瑞银基金管理有限公司信息技术部运 维工程师邱定勇对于 Veeam® Backup & ReplicationTM 这套解决方案带来的实际 应用价值表示了充分的肯定。

在邱定勇看来,虽然目前众多传统备份供应商都能执行虚拟机(VM)的映像 级备份,但在备份效率上却远远不及 Veeam,这不仅仅体现时间的差异上, 更是体现在备份的完整性方面,而且还节省了存储空间。“800G 的虚拟机数 据,备份的时间大概也就只有16分钟,而且我们的网络是千兆网络而非万兆网 络。”对于 Veeam 带来的备份效率上的提升,邱定勇十分认同 Veeam 超越传 统备份工具的根本优势。

与此同时,Veeam 的快速压缩和去重功能也得到了邱定勇所在的国投瑞银信息 技术部门的一致好评。重复数据删除和压缩的性能优化组合是 Veeam 的主要 数据简化方式,Veeam 可在数据源(即备份代理)和目标(即备份存储库) 端实施任务级重复数据删除:数据源端重复数据删除可确保只有先前恢复点中 没有的独特数据块可在网络中传输;目标端重复数据删除可将收到的数据块与 备份文件中存储的其他虚拟机 (VM) 数据块进行比较检查,跨备份任务包含 的所有虚拟机实施全局重复数据删除。

另外,Veeam 还支持单个备份代理在vSphere 和Hyper-V 备份与恢复过程中 以 1GB/秒的速度处理数据流,对于金融行业而言,时间就是金钱,在备份去 重方面节省下来的时间,都意味着促进业务运营效率的显著提升。邱定勇表 示,从某种程度上说,Veeam 表现出如此出色的压缩去重能力,不仅为国投瑞 银节省了不少存储资源,并且大幅度地降低了处理费用。

目前,国投瑞银正在将所有的业务都以虚拟化的形式部署在系统上,在约 400 台虚拟机中,Veeam 承担了其中120台左右的本地备份任务,并且每台虚拟机 都要求全部备份。

在虚拟机恢复方面,利用 Veeam 的 vPower 技术,可以在定期备份存储设备 上,从经过压缩和去重的备份文件上直接运行虚拟机。在生产环境的存储设备 上,只需从备份文件启动虚拟机即可。因此,如果虚拟机发生故障,可以在短 短数分钟内在任何主机上将其重新启动。这种便捷性对于IT 人员只有十余位 的国投瑞银而言,无疑是最大限度上降低了人力成本。

而对于自动化运维程度不高的国投瑞银而言,接下来或将通过 Veeam ONE 来 监控 Veeam Backup & Replication 的备份及同步情况,也可以同期监控 VMware vSphere 虚拟化平台及微软的 Hyper-V 虚拟化平台,从而实现自动化全面透视 IT 环境,在问题对系统运行未造成影响之前发现它并解决掉。

结果

  • 降低运维难度、提升运维效率
    Veeam 提供强大高效的虚拟机备份功能、快速灵活的恢复功能和高级虚拟 机复制功能,使运维管理更加智能、便捷、高效。
  • 降低业务数据丢失的风险,保证数据和业务的可用性
    提供多种备份选项,既可以现场复制以实现高可用性,又可以异地复制 以实现灾难恢复,再加上内置的精简高效的灾难恢复功能,可避免数据 丢失。
  • 减少构建备份系统的一次性投入
    内置重复数据删除、压缩和其他数据简化技术,节省存储空间,减低网络 流量,节约人力成本。
国投瑞银基金管理有限公司
Please rate how helpful this article was to you:
5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings
Thank you for helping us improve!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.

Sales Hotline: 1-800-691-1991 8am - 8pm ET
English

UBS SDIC

Company:

The UBS SDIC is China's first joint-venture fund management company with foreign shareholders' percentage reaching the upper limit and is ranked among the top 10 of 67 fund companies in the 2012 Second-Half-Yearly Report on Comprehensive Evaluation of Proactive Stock Investment Management Capability of Fund Companies issued by the China Galaxy Securities Co., Ltd (CGS). It has 251 employees including 17 IT personnel.

Challenge:

How to store data securely and effectively, enable backup data to be controllable in real time, and achieve data validation.

Results:

  • Reduce difficulties while improving the efficiency of operation and maintenance
  • Reduce risks of business data loss to ensure the Availability of data and businesses
  • Reduce one-time investment in building of the backup system

Business Challenges

China’s traditional financial industry is undergoing a big data-driven revolution in which data that is the core assets of the financial industry will play an unexpected role. In 2016, relevant regulators put forward more stringent requirements for data exchange, backup and registration platforms in the fund industry, so traditional data management methods are not enough to tackle the challenges from the supervisors and users.

UBS SDIC has a good reputation for its investment and management capability, but it must make efforts to improve the ability to guarantee the security of data about information system. “The equipment is outmoded to make the business system face great pressure. The hot standby solution cannot solve the problem once and for all. In some specific cases, such as the hot standby solution achieving the same outcomes, such hot standby will have the same result with cold standby solution. The VM and application fail to take over the work of the defective one in the case of a failure, so it is necessary to manually enable hardware and services.” Qiu Dingyong, the operation and maintenance engineer of UBS SDIC’s IT department, takes the responsibility for internal IT operations and maintenance and management. It is necessary to make the corresponding adjustments to ensure system security and business continuity because traditional data management strategies lack automatic operation and maintenance capabilities.

UBS SDIC is preparing for building active-active data centers, according to Qiu Dingyong. Different from the model of active-standby data centers, the active-active data centers enable both production and DR site to run online. Each site can run as usual while the other site is offline, so that it is transparent to users and does not affect businesses. The active-active data centers’ service capacity is doubled via resource integration, thus avoiding the waste of standby data center as it is idle all year round. In addition to the active-active data centers, UBS SDIC will also plan to build a disaster recovery data center. As said by Qiu Dingyong, UBS SDIC is now working to handle network related issues and it will have more heavy data backup work.

In the financial industry, the need for data centers is often reflected in low latency, real- time data, high-frequency OLTP, data security, business continuity/disaster recovery, etc. The timely data backup and recovery is extremely important for financial institutions because great loss will be caused by one-minute latency during trading hours.

Not wanting to struggle with traditional backup solutions, UBS SDIC wants to modernize their backup solution to enable the availability of their Modern Data Center.

Veeam Solution

In the UBS SDIC data center, there are about 80 physical servers, so it needs time to migrate data and system coefficients on these servers onto virtual machines. However, with a sharp increase in business volume, UBS SDIC has stricter requirements for not only efficiency but also reliability of data backup and recovery provided by service providers.

After a comprehensive verify the UBS SDIC finally decided to choose the solution Veeam® Backup & Replication™, which can achieve instant outcomes during project implementation in the aspect of instant VM recovery, application recovery, file-level recovery, auto recovery verification, agentless, single backup, full backup, replication, Hyper-V support, cost, and so on.

“There are many companies that are migrating their core business to virtual environments. Veeam solution is the best one among solutions under consideration as its smooth backup and compression technology and data reliability help us save much time and efforts. The financial industry emphasizes the efficiency of resource allocation. We have no dissatisfaction with Veeam products and services.” Qiu Dingyong, the operation and maintenance engineer of UBS SDIC’s IT department, said. Qui Dingyong highly appreciates the actual application value of the Veeam® Backup & ReplicationTM solution .

According to Qiu Dingyong, many traditional backup service providers are now able to perform image-level backup of virtual machines (VM) but they are far less efficient than Veeam who not only saves backup time but also enables full backup and reduction of storage space. “The Veeam solution takes only 16 minutes to back up 800 GB of VM data although our network is a gigabit one rather than a 10 GB one.” He highly appreciates Veeam’s fundamental advantages in improving backup efficiency.

Besides, Veeam’s quick compression and deduplication features are unanimously praised by UBS SDIC’s ID department where Qiu Dingyong works. The optimized combination of deduplication and compression is the master data simplified method. Veeam can perform task-level deduplication at both data source side and target side. The data source-side deduplication ensures only unique data blocks excluded at previous recovery points are transmitted via the network while the target side deduplication can compare the received data blocks with other VM ones stored in backup fi s and enable global deduplication for all VMs involved in backup tasks.

In addition, Veeam supports that a single backup agent performs 1 GB/S data stream processing during vSphere and Hyper-V backup and recovery. In the financial industry, time is money, so the time saved during backup means significant improvement in business operational efficiency. According to Qiu Dingyong, to some extent, Veeam has shown such an excellent compression and deduplication capability, not only saving a lot of storage resources but also significantly reducing processing costs for the UBS SDIC.

Currently, the UBS SDIC is deploying all businesses via virtualization onto the system. Veeam is responsible for local backup of all data on about 120 of the 400 VMs, and full backup is required for each VM.

As for VM recovery, Veeam’s vPower technology can enable it to directly run VMs from the compressed and deduplicated backup files on the periodic backup and storage device. On a storage device in the production environment, it is only necessary to enable VMs from backup files. Therefore, VMs can be restarted on any host within minutes if they suffer from a fault. This convenience helps the UBS SDIC minimize IT personnel labor costs.

The UBS SDIC, with its operation and maintenance not highly automatic, will apply Veeam ONETM to monitor backup and synchronization of Veeam Backup & ReplicationTM as well as VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V to create an automatic, fully transparent IT environment and discover and address problems before these problems impact the system.

Achievements

  • Improve the efficiency while reducing difficulties in operation and maintenance
    Veeam achieves more intelligent, convenient and efficient operation and maintenance management by providing a powerful and efficient VM backup feature, fast and flexible recovery feature and an advanced VM replication feature.
  • Ensure availability of data and business while reducing risks of business data loss
    Provide a variety of backup options which can achieve not only on-site replication to realize high availability but also off-site replication to realize disaster recovery, avoiding data loss together with the built-in streamlined, efficient disaster recovery feature.
  • Reduce one-time investment of building a backup system
    Save storage space and labor costs, and reduce network traffic by virtue of the built-in data deduplication, compression and other data simplification technologies.
UBS SDIC
Please rate how helpful this article was to you:
4.8 out of 5 based on 8 ratings
Thank you for helping us improve!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.