成功案例的完整列表 >
Capfin 相信 Veeam 能够保护爆炸式增长的数据
Capfin

Capfin 相信 Veeam 能够保护爆炸式增长的数据

如果我们在语音环境中检测到问题,实际上我们应该利用 Veeam 更快 地还原虚拟机,而不是花费时间去调查和解决问题… Veeam 已经改变了 我们看待虚拟化环境的方式。

公司:

Southern View Finance UK Ltd t/a Capfin (Capfin) 是一家专注于为 大众市场提供技术驱动、具有成 本效益和便利的金融服务的注册 信贷服务提供商。Capfin 的大部 分收入来源于通过遍布于南非的 PEP 和 ACKERMANS 零售网点向 客户提供无担保个人贷款。

行业:

金融服务

挑战:

随着 Capfin 的业务不断发展,数据 也开始呈爆炸式增长。企业无法接 受因运行贷款软件、Microsoft SQL Server 和语音服务器的虚拟机恢复 速度缓慢而产生的停机时间。

解决方案:

Veeam Availability Suite

结果:

  • 将备份时间减少一半;将备份复制 到磁带以便于异地存储
  • 减少恢复时间,无论数据如何爆炸 式增长
  • 全面查看和控制备份基础架构

关于 FIRST TECHNOLOGY:

First Technology 为各行业的所有规 模的企业和组织提供 IT 解决方案和 支持服务。凭借分布于南非的 11 个 分销点和 25,000 个著名品牌产品系 列,First Technology 不但可以通过具 有竞争力的总拥有 IT 成本降低客户部 署新技术的风险,而且还能够为客户 提供丰厚的投资回报。

业务挑战

Capfin 的宗旨是快速方便地获取现金。作为南非发展最快的金融服务公司之 一,Capfin 每个月通过由约 750 名员工组成的电话服务中心处理成千上万的 贷款申请(每周工作六天)。

Capfin 已经开发了自己的贷款处理软件,从而使得开发人员能够进一步完善 申请流程并最大限度提高处理大量数据的效率。该软件在需要每天进行备份 的六台 VMware vSphere 虚拟机 (VM) 上运行,从而导致在 14 GB 的贷款数据基 础上,每月继续增长 800 GB。除此之外,Capfin 还在运行 Microsoft SQL Server 的虚拟机上备份有另外的 7TB 后台数据。此外,SQL Server 也运行贷款申请 软件的大部分逻辑层。因此,Capfin 正面临着数据爆炸式增长的挑战。

Capfin 运行在一个不能承受任何停机时间或数据丢失的完全虚拟化的无纸化 环境中。如果运行贷款软件的虚拟机发生故障,则电话服务中心的员工将无 法正常工作。如果运行 SQL Server 的虚拟机发生故障,则后台员工将无法完 成他们的大部分工作(如计费),这将会对公司的收入产生直接影响。必须 能够快速和可靠地备份和恢复虚拟机。当传统的备份工具开始无法保护日益 增长的数据时,Capfin 的 IT 团队需要立即采取措施。

“备份到磁带需要 48 小时,恢复可能需要几小时或几天,”Capfin IT 运营经 理 Andrew Connelly 说。“例如,如果我们的 SQL 环境发生故障,则我们公 司可能会在几天内都处于离线状态,因为我们需要从磁带进行还原,这可能 会对我们的收入产生严重影响。我们再也不想经历这样的情况,因此我们需 要改用基于磁盘的备份以便能够快速恢复。”

Capfin 向其值得信任的合作伙伴 First Technology(一家提供 IT 解决方案和 服务的领先的南非单一来源提供商)进行了咨询。First Technology 顾问确认 了 Capfin 的要求(快速简单的备份和恢复),并建议使用 Veeam® Availability Suite™。顾问解释说,Veeam 可以保护 Capfin 的爆炸式增长数据,并通过帮 助 IT 团队使用监控、报告和容量规划功能管理虚拟化环境来提供额外价值。

“我们已经与 First Technology 合作了很长一段时间,因此他们的建议始终是 我们关注的重点,”Connelly 说。“我过去曾经使用过 Veeam,但只是用于 进行复制。我们已经为快速备份和恢复做好了准备,而监控、报告和容量规 划功能则更是锦上添花。”

Veeam 解决方案

Veeam Software 和 Capfin 拥有很多共同点。这两家公司都是其各自行业中发 展最快的公司,并且他们通过努力实现“快速简单的备份和恢复”和“快 速方便地获取现金”在其市场中占主导地位。使用 Veeam Availability Suite, Capfin 不但可以避免出现成本昂贵的停机事件,而且还能够降低数据丢失的 风险。

Veeam 每天可以帮助 Capfin 将 80 台虚拟机上 21TB 的数据备份到现场存储区 域网络 (SAN)。Veeam 的备份速度比传统备份工具的速度更快,只需 24 小时 而不是 48 小时。此外,Capfin 还使用 Veeam 将备份文件复制到磁带,从而 能够快速跟踪虚拟机及其还原点,并简化恢复长期的大数据保留。

除了将 Capfin 的备份窗口缩短一半以外,Veeam Availability Suite 还消除了 IT 团队的最大恐惧 — 恢复运行贷款软件和 SQL Server 的发生故障的虚拟机。 如果这些虚拟机发生故障,Veeam 可以利用称为 Instant VM Recovery® 的功能 在几分钟内从备份重新启动每台虚拟机。并且,Veeam 也可以在几分钟内还 原单个文件和应用项。

“如果我们在 SQL 环境中检测到问题,实际上我们应该利用 Veeam 更快地 还原虚拟机,而不是花费时间去调查和解决问题,”Connelly 说。“如果我 们要确定已经在生产环境中发生且可能会对 SQL 虚拟机产生影响的变化,则 我们可以使用 Veeam 的 On-Demand Sandbox 功能来进行测试和故障排除。 Veeam 已经改变了我们监控虚拟化环境的方式。”

Veeam 同样也改变了 Capfin 管理其虚拟环境的方式。Veeam Availability Suite 可让您全面查看备份和虚拟基础架构,先进监控备份作业和资源以及实时报 告和详细记录备份状态、性能、可用性和使用情况。

“Veeam 监控功能可以帮助我们快速确定和解决问题,”Connelly 说。“当 我们注意到 VMware 环境的性能下降后,我们的系统管理员将会运行报告并 快速排除物理主机。该问题最终可以演变成网络问题。他说对他而言更快和 更简单的方法是使用 Veeam 来检查 VMware 主机的网络使用情况,而不是使 用本地监控控制台。”

Veeam 的容量规划功能同样也可以帮助 Capfin。

“如果我们备份到更旧的 SAN,Veeam 可以帮助我们查看备份存储容量逐渐 减少的时间,”Connelly 解释。“我们只需要向 SAN 添加多个磁盘就可以避 免出现问题。Veeam 使得所有一切都变得如此简单。”

结果

将备份时间减少一半;将备份复制到磁带以便于异地存储
在 Capfin 部署 Veeam Availability Suite 之前,备份到磁带需要 48 小时。使用 Veeam,备份到磁盘需要 24 小时。Capfin 通过将 Veeam 备份复制到磁带进行 存档来充分利用其磁带库。对于 Capfin 而言,磁带是用来长期异地存储大数 据集的最佳选择。

减少恢复时间,无论数据如何爆炸式增长
如果运行 Capfin 的专有贷款软件和 SQL Server 的虚拟机发生故障,则员工无 法正常完成他们的工作。对于 Capfin 来说,要确保申请的高可用性和保持业 务能够正常运行的唯一选择是快速恢复。Veeam 的虚拟机、文件和单个项目 的即时恢复涉及几乎所有的恢复情景。

全面查看和控制备份基础架构
Veeam Availability Suite 能够让 Capfin 通过集成的监控、先进的报警和自动化 报告功能全面查看其备份基础架构。通过全面查看,Capfin 能够快速确定并 解决其备份基础架构中的问题,以及提前知道备份磁盘空间即将用尽的时间。 此外,Veeam 还会分析使用趋势,并为容量规划提供配置建议。

Rating: 5 / 5 ( 1 votes cast)

为什么选择 Veeam?

立即试用

如何购买

为什么选择 Veeam 解决方案

Veeam Availability Suite
开始您的 30 天免费试用
许可和如何购买

Full list of Success Stories >
Capfin Credits Veeam with Protecting Exploding Data
Capfin

Capfin Credits Veeam with Protecting Exploding Data

If we detect a problem in our voice environment, it’s actually faster for us to restore the VMs with Veeam rather than investigate and troubleshoot the problem…Veeam changed the way we look at our virtualized environment.

Company:

Southern View Finance UK Ltd t/a Capfin (Capfin) is a registered credit provider specialising in technology-driven, cost-effective and accessible financial services for the mass market. Capfin earns most of its revenue by providing unsecured personal loans to customers through PEP and ACKERMANS retail outlets across South Africa.

Industry:

Financial Services

Challenge:

As the Capfin business was booming, data began to explode. Downtime due to slow recovery of VMs running loan software, Microsoft SQL Server and the voice server is not acceptable to the business.

results:

  • Cuts backup time in half; backups are copied to tape for offsite storage
  • Decreases recovery time regardless of data explosion
  • Provides complete visibility and control of backup infrastructure

About First Technology:

First Technology provides IT solutions and support services to businesses and organisations of all sizes and in every industry. With 11 distribution points across South Africa and 25,000 brandname product lines, First Technology reduces clients’ risk of deploying new technologies with a competitive total cost of IT ownership, providing them with a compelling return on investment.

The Business Challenge

Capfin is synonymous with fast, easy cash. As one of the fastest growing financial services companies in South Africa, Capfin processes thousands of loan applications each month through a call centre that operates six days a week and employs approximately 750 people.

Capfin created its own loan-processing software, enabling developers to fine tune the application and maximise efficiency for high volumes of data. The software runs on six VMware vSphere virtual machines (VMs) that are backed up daily, resulting in 14TB of loan data that grows by 800GB per month. Capfin backs up another 7TB of back-office data on VMs running Microsoft SQL Server. SQL Server also runs most of the logic layer of the loan-processing software. Capfin is in the middle of a data explosion.

Capfin operates in a fully virtualised, paper-free environment that cannot afford any downtime or data loss. If VMs running loan software fail, call centre employees can’t do their jobs. If the VMs running SQL Server fail, back-office employees can’t complete the majority of their work, such as billing, which directly impacts revenue. VM backup and recovery must be fast and reliable. When the legacy backup tool began to falter with growing data, Capfin’s IT team took action.

“Backup to tape was taking 48 hours, and recovery could take hours or days,” said Andrew Connelly, IT Operations Manager at Capfin. “For example, if our SQL environment were to fail, our company could be offline for days as we restored from tape, which could massively affect revenue. We never want to experience a situation like that, so we needed to switch to disk-based backup for fast recovery.”

Capfin consulted its trusted partner, First Technology, one of South Africa’s leading single-source providers of IT solutions and services. First Technology advisors acknowledged Capfin’s requirements (fast, easy backup and recovery) and recommended Veeam® Backup Management Suite™. Advisors explained that Veeam would protect Capfin’s exploding data and provide additional value by assisting the IT team in managing the virtualised environment through monitoring, reporting and capacity planning.

“We’ve worked with First Technology for a long time, and their recommendations are always spot on,” Connelly said. “I have used Veeam in the past, but only for replication. We were ready for fast backup and recovery, and we considered monitoring, reporting and capacity planning a bonus.”

The Veeam Solution

Veeam Software and Capfin have a lot in common. Both are among the fastest growing companies in their industries, and both dominate their markets by striving to achieve “fast, easy backup and recovery” and “fast, easy cash.” With Veeam Backup Management Suite, Capfin avoids costly downtime and mitigates the risk of data loss.

Veeam helps Capfin back up 21TB of data on 80 VMs each day to an onsite storage area network (SAN). Veeam backup is faster than the legacy tool, taking 24 hours rather than 48 hours. Capfin also uses Veeam to copy backup files to tape, enabling fast tracking of VMs and their restore points and simplifying recovery for long-term, large data retention. In addition to cutting Capfin’s backup window in half, Veeam Backup Management Suite eliminated the IT team’s biggest fear—recovering failed VMs running loan software and SQL Server. If they fail, Veeam will restart each VM from a backup in minutes with a feature called Instant VM Recovery®. Veeam also restores individual files and application items in minutes.

“If we detect a problem in our SQL environment, it’s actually faster for us to restore the VMs with Veeam rather than investigate and troubleshoot the problem,” Connelly said. “If we want to identify what changes have been made in our production environment that may have affected our SQL VMs, we use Veeam’s On-Demand Sandbox for testing and troubleshooting. Veeam changed the way we look at our virtualized environment.”

Veeam changed the way Capfin manages its virtual environment too. Veeam Backup Management Suite provides complete visibility of backup and virtual infrastructures, advanced monitoring of backup jobs and resources, real-time reporting and detailed documentation of backup status, performance, availability and utilisation. “Veeam monitoring helps us identify and resolve issues quickly,” Connelly said. “When we noticed slow performance in our VMware farm, our systems administrator ran a report and quickly ruled out physical hosts. It turned out to be a network problem. He said it was faster and easier for him to check network usage on VMware hosts with Veeam rather than using the native monitoring console.”

Veeam’s capacity planning capabilities help Capfin as well.

“We back up to an older SAN, and Veeam helps us see when our backup storage capacity is dwindling,” Connelly explained. “We simply add more disks to the SAN and avoid a problem. Veeam makes everything so simple.”

The Results

Cuts backup time in half; backups are copied to tape for offsite storage
Before Capfin deployed Veeam Backup Management Suite, backup to tape took 48 hours. With Veeam, backup to disk takes 24 hours. Capfin makes good use of its tape library by copying Veeam backups to tape for archiving. For Capfin, tape is the best option for long-term, offsite storage of large data sets.

Decreases recovery time regardless of data explosion
If VMs fail that run Capfin’s proprietary loan software and SQL Server, employees can’t do their jobs. Fast recovery is the only option for Capfin to ensure high availability of applications and keep the business running. Veeam’s instant recovery of VMs, files and individual items covers virtually every recovery scenario.

Provides complete visibility and control of backup infrastructure
Veeam Backup Management Suite gives Capfin complete visibility of its backup infrastructure through integrated monitoring, advanced alerting and automated reporting. With complete visibility, Capfin identifies and resolves issues in its backup infrastructure quickly and knows ahead of time when backup disks are getting full. Veeam also analyzes usage trends and offers provisioning recommendations for capacity planning.

Rating: 4 / 5 ( 13 votes cast)

Why Veeam?

Try now

How to buy

Why choose Veeam solutions

Veeam Availability Suite
free 30-day trial
Licensing and buying options