金地集团通过 Veeam 使数据恢复速度 提高 90%,保持在线房地产销售顺畅
我们现在实现了比以前快 90% 的速度恢复我们的数字平台,这 有助于我们把长时间停机的风险降到最低--让我们避免因错失销售 机会而损失数百万美元。
金地集团高级IT经理韩先生
Gemdale

业务挑战

金地集团是一家业务遍及中国和美国的房地产投资开发公司。 2021年,该组 织在中国超过24个主要城市实现了超过449亿美元的合同销售额。 该公司的目 标是持续增长—旨在将个人、家庭和企业与他们的首选物业连接起来。

数字渠道在金地集团的销售和营销过程中发挥着重要作用。 该公司在网上展示 其所有物业,使潜在客户能够浏览其库存、安排看房,甚至通过他们的笔记本 电脑、智能手机或平板电脑支付定金。

金地集团高级 IT 经理韩晓雷表示:“如果我们的销售系统宕机,我们将无法出售 我们的物业。 这些应用程序对业务至关重要,即使一小时的停机时间也可能使我 们损失相当于 1500 万美元的销售机会,因此我们必须提供 24/7 的可用性。”

金地集团的 IT 环境包括运行在 15 台物理服务器上的大约 500 台 VMware 虚拟机。 这些服务器托管关键信息系统,例如 Microsoft Active Directory Microsoft SQL Server 和 Microsoft Exchange。

“我们以前使用的传统的备份系统来备份我们的业务数据,”韩先生说。 “我们的原定目标是每晚完成一次增量备份,每周末完成一次完整备份。 然而,实现这些目标变得越来越具有挑战性。备份单个 1 TB 虚拟机需要长达 8 小时,这意味着很难按时完成该任务。”

随着金地集团的业务和数据量的快速增长,公司意识到现有的数据保护工具将 无法满足其长期需求。

“我们的恢复点目标 RPO 和恢复时间目标 RTO 分别为 30 分钟和 5 分钟,但 以前我们没有信心在灾难情况下能够实现这些目标,”韩先生说。 “我们以前 使用传统的备份系统还缺乏保护我们新的混合云架构的能力,而这是我们业务 的未来方向。为了降低风险并为下阶段的云之旅做好准备,我们寻找一种全新 的方法。”

Veeam解决方案

在评估了多家数据保护厂商之后,金地集团选择了 Veeam Backup & Replication:一个全方位的企业级备份解决方案。

“Veeam 解决方案在许多对金地集团至关重要的领域都超越了竞争对手,”韩 先生说。 “Veeam 是一款功能强大、配置和维护很简单的解决方案,这意味着 我们可以在不影响 RTO 和 RPO 的服务水平协议 SLA 的情况下让我们的 IT 运维 团队保持专注。该解决方案与 VMware 和 Azure 无缝集成,使我们能够有效、 高效地备份数百个虚拟机——无论它们是本地数据中心还是在云平台上。”

如今,金地集团已将该解决方案配置为在多个云平台和本地自动创建备份, 将其 RPO 降至30分钟,并在实际生产环境出现问题时消除了数据丢失的风 险。至关重要的是迁移到 Veeam 解决方案还使该公司能够显著加快其备份流 程——让 IT 团队高枕无忧,可以满足其 SLA。

“在概念验证阶段,我们将新解决方案与我们以前使用传统的备份系统并排进 行了比较,”韩先生说。 “我们发现,Veeam 解决方案备份 1 TB 虚拟机的时 间是过去的一半,将备份窗口从 8 小时缩短到 4 小时。通过将备份流程加快 50%,我们正在创造宝贵的净空,使我们未来能够随着数据量的增长保护我们 的业务。”

借助 Veeam,金地集团可以在短短几分钟内完成以前需要数小时才能完成的恢 复工作,从而满足其严格的 RTO。展望未来,金地集团自信已找到满足其未来 需求的数据保护解决方案。

“由于 Veeam 包含对 Azure 的内置支持,我们无需投资额外的工具来保护我 们的云环境,从而帮助我们控制运营成本,”韩先生说。 “Veeam 还允许我 们创建数据的只读副本。通过阻止任何人对我们的备份进行更改,我们可以有 效地解除勒索软件攻击的威胁,这些攻击正在成为越来越大的业务风险。”

结果

  • 将恢复时间从 5 小时缩短到 5 分钟,从根本上降低了收入损失的风险
    “我们现在可以比以前快 90% 的速度恢复我们的数字平台,这有助于我 们将长时间停机的风险降到最低--可能会让我们避免因错失销售机会损失 数百万美元,”韩先生说。
  • 将与数据保护相关的管理时间减少 40%,为IT运维团队节省时间
    通过自动执行重复的数据保护任务,金地集团正使其 IT 人员专注于开发其 系统并为业务提供新容量。
  • 为 Microsoft Azure 提供全面支持,促进公司向云迁移
    “我们认为 Veeam 对 Azure 的支持比当今市场上的任何其他数据保护解决 方案要好得多,”韩先生说。 “因此我们有信心在将关键数字系统迁移到 云端时,我们能继续有效地保护它们。”

公司:

金地集团总部位于中国深圳,是领先 的房地产开发商,业务遍及全国24 个城市,并在美国开展业务。 在中 国,公司已在北京、广州、上海和深 圳等城市完成了100多个开发项目。

挑战:

金地集团让人们能够在线和通过移动 方式浏览其物业并支付首付——即 使是一小时的计划外停机也可能意 味着损失高达 1500 万美元的销售机 会。 随着业务和数据的不断增长, 该公司认识到其现有的传统的备份系 统无法满足关键业务系统的恢复点和 时间目标。

成效:

  • 将恢复时间从 5 小时缩短到 5 分钟,从根本上降低了收入损失的风险
  • 将与数据保护相关的管理时间减少 40%,为IT运维团队节省时间
  • 为 Microsoft Azure 提供全面支 持,促进公司向云迁移

Gemdale keeps online property sales flowing with 90% faster data recovery from Veeam
We can now restore our digital platforms up to 90% faster than before, which helps us to minimize the risk of extended periods of downtime — saving us millions of dollars in missed sales opportunities.
Xiaolei Han
Senior IT Manager
Gemdale

The business challenge

Gemdale is a real estate investment and development company with operations across China and the USA. In 2021, the organization completed contracted sales of over $44.9 billion in more than 24 major cities across China. The company is targeting continued growth — aiming to connect individuals, families and businesses with their preferred properties.

The digital channel plays an important role in Gemdale’s sales and marketing process. The company lists all its properties online, empowering prospects to browse its inventory, arrange viewings and even make down payments via their laptops, smartphones or tablets.

Xiaolei Han, Senior IT Manager at Gemdale, said: “If our sales system went offline, we wouldn’t be able to sell our properties. These applications are so crucial to the business that even an hour of downtime could cost us the equivalent of $15 million in lost sales opportunities — so it’s essential that we deliver 24/7 availability.”

Gemdale’s IT environment comprises approximately 500 VMware virtual machines (VMs) running on 15 physical servers, which host mission-critical information systems such as Microsoft Active Directory, Microsoft SQL Server and Microsoft Exchange.

“We previously used a legacy backup solution to back up our business data,” said Han. “We aimed to complete an incremental backup each night and a full backup every weekend. However, hitting these targets was becoming increasingly challenging. It took up to eight hours to back up a single 1 TB VM, which meant it was difficult to complete the process on time.”

As Gemdale’s business — and its data volumes — grew rapidly, the company realized that the existing data protection tools would be unable to meet its long-term requirements.

“Our recovery point objective [RPO] and recovery time objectives [RTO] are 30 and 5 minutes respectively, but we were not confident we could meet those objectives during a disaster scenario,” said Han. “Our legacy backup solution also lacked the ability to protect our new hybrid cloud architecture, which is the future direction for our business. To reduce our risk and prepare for the next phase of our cloud journey, we looked for a fresh approach.”

The Veeam solution

After assessing various data protection vendors, Gemdale selected Veeam Backup & Replication: a comprehensive, enterprise-class backup solution.

“The Veeam solution outperformed the competition in a number of areas that are very important to Gemdale,” said Han. “Veeam is a powerful solution that is also simple to configure and maintain, which means we can keep our IT operations team focused on meeting our service-level agreements [SLAs] for RTO and RPO. The solution integrates seamlessly with both VMware and Azure, allowing us to back up hundreds of VMs effectively and efficiently — regardless of whether they are hosted onpremises or in the cloud.”

Today, Gemdale has configured the solution to automatically create backups in multiple cloud and on-premises locations, reducing its RPO to 30 minutes and practically eliminating the risk of data loss in the event of an issue with its production environments. Crucially, moving to the Veeam solution has also empowered the company to accelerate its backup processes dramatically—offering the IT team peace of mind that it can meet its SLAs.

“During the proof-of-concept phase, we compared the new solution sideby- side with our legacy backup solution,” said Han. “We saw that the Veeam solution could back up a 1 TB VM in half the time it used to take—reducing the backup window from eight hours to just four hours. By accelerating backup processes by 50%, we are creating valuable headroom that will allow us to protect our business as data volumes grow.”

Thanks to Veeam, Gemdale can complete restore tasks that previously took many hours in just a few minutes, enabling it to meet its stringent RTO. Looking ahead, Gemdale is confident that it has found a data protection solution that will meet its needs for years to come.

“Because Veeam includes built-in support for Azure, there’s no need for us to invest in additional tools to protect our cloud environments — helping us to keep operational costs under control,” said Han. “Veeam also allows us to create immutable copies of our data. By preventing anyone from making changes to our backups, we can effectively disarm the threat of ransomware attacks, which are becoming an increasing business risk.”

The results

  • Cuts recovery time from five hours to five minutes, radically reducing the risk of revenue loss
    “We can now restore our digital platforms up to 90% faster than before, which helps us to minimize the risk of extended periods of downtime —potentially saving us millions of dollars in missed sales opportunities,” said Han.
  • Reduces administration time related to data protection by 40%, saving time for IT operations team
    By automating repetitive data-protection tasks, Gemdale is empowering its IT personnel to focus on developing its systems and delivering new capabilities to the business.
  • Offers full support for Microsoft Azure, facilitating the company’s move to cloud
    “We feel that Veeam has much better support with Azure than any other data protection solutions on the market today,” said Han. “We’re therefore confident that we can continue to effectively protect our mission-critical digital systems as we move them to the cloud.”

Company:

Headquartered in Shenzhen, China, Gemdale is a leading property developer with a presence in 24 cities across the country, as well as operations in the USA. In China, the company has completed over 100 development projects in cities including Beijing, Guangzhou, Shanghai and Shenzhen.

Challenge:

Gemdale empowers people to browse and place down payments on its properties online and on mobile—and even one hour of unplanned downtime can represent up to $15 million in lost sales opportunities. With its business and its data growing continuously, the company recognized that its existing legacy backup solution was unable to meet its recovery point and time objectives for the mission-critical business systems.

Results:

  • Cuts recovery time from five hours to five minutes, radically reducing the risk of revenue loss
  • Reduces administration time related to data protection by 40%, saving time for IT operations team
  • Offers full support for Microsoft Azure, facilitating the company’s move to cloud