https://login.veeam.com/cn/oauth?client_id=nXojRrypJ8&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.veeam.com%2Fservices%2Fauthentication%2Fredirect_url&response_type=code&scope=profile&state=eyJmaW5hbFJlZGlyZWN0TG9jYXRpb24iOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy52ZWVhbS5jb20vY24vc3VjY2Vzcy1zdG9yaWVzL2luY2hjYXBlLmh0bWwiLCJoYXNoIjoiYjUxYjI3ZmUtMzlhNy00Y2RiLThkY2EtZmMxYTQ2MTQzNWExIn0
+86-10-5643-8388 | 09:00 - 18:00(北京时间 )
Veeam 助力英之杰消除中断,避免 价值数百万美元的交易损失

业务挑战

英之杰澳大利亚公司是一家大型汽车分销商,代理业内超过 35 个品牌的汽车, 他们需要管理大量快速增长的财务和交易数据。为了支持从分销、物流、零售到 库存的多条业务线,该企业运行了 200 多个业务应用程序,因此亟需一家数据 管理提供商来帮助他们保持稳定的服务水平。任何一个环节的疏漏都可能对收入 和品牌声誉造成巨大影响!

英之杰澳大利亚公司 IT 运营经理 Darren Warner 此前在 CBRE Group 就职, 并与 Veeam 有过密切合作,是最早采用 Veeam 云数据管理解决方案的逐新者 之一,他希望在英之杰也成功部署这一解决方案。

Warner 之所以将 Veeam 纳入英之杰的技术战略,主要是为了确保无缝的服务水 平和客户满意度。他回忆说:“在使用 Veeam 之前,我们有时会因硬件故障遭 遇长达 36 个小时的业务中断。这导致英之杰无法在这段时间内处理任何客户交 易或交付任何服务。业务中断给公司造成了数百万美元的财务损失,更不用说客 户信任度方面的损失。”

除此之外,我们之前还将数据备份到成本高昂的磁带上,每月花费近 14,000 美 元采购、存储和管理磁带。Warner 表示:“我们有 10,000 多个存储磁带,没 有人真正知道在哪里以及如何检索备份所需的数据。”

他继续说道:“在我接掌英之杰 IT 运营团队之前,这里没有服务等级协议,没 有灾难恢复策略,系统故障也是家常便饭。因此,我的团队判定企业处于高风险 状态。”

Veeam 解决方案

为了解决由于网络问题、变更控制流程缺失以及基础架构老化而造成的中断,英 之杰 IT 运营团队联合 Veeam 部署了 Veeam® Availability Suite™。

Warner 团队首先为企业制定了服务等级协议,然后将所有的应用程序分层归类, 同时设定了相应的恢复点目标 (RPO) 和恢复时间目标 (RPO)。对财务影响最大 的应用程序(例如分销或物流类)被定义为第 1 层。第 2 层及以下层级均为 在发生备份故障时对业务影响较小的流程。

为了实现这些新的 RPO 和 RTO 目标,英之杰的高管团队发现他们迫切需 要从磁带转移到混合云环境,尤其是对于需要更快恢复速度的第 1 层应用程 序。Warner 的团队还引入了基于磁盘的备份,在英之杰总部和异地设施中部 署了 200 多个虚拟机,最终实现了只有 4 小时的 RPO 和 RTO。

Warner 表示,由于 98% 的虚拟化环境基于 VMware,并且 Veeam 与 Microsoft Azure 和 AWS 云平台紧密集成,他们“几乎无缝”地从磁 带迁移了到磁盘和基于云的存储。该团队还发现了 Veeam® Backup and Replication® 的创新用途,即将其用作功能强大的迁移工具,这样只需几分钟 便可将数据传输到云以及新的内部基础架构。

此外,在优先为合作伙伴与客户提供数据安全性与透明性方面,英之杰也取得 了巨大进展。Veeam® Availability Orchestrator 自动化测试和报告功能可帮 助 Warner 团队端到端地验证并记录灾难恢复流程(包括可实现的 RPO 和 RTO),以满足合规标准。这对像英之杰这样与豪华汽车品牌合作的企业来说 非常重要,可在维护企业声誉方面发挥积极作用。

Warner 解释说:“Veeam Availability Orchestrator 消除了编排和维护 100% 数据可用性的痛点,并且由于它只需大约 10 分钟便可高效完成测 试,我们还可在工作时间内执行这一流程。”

他补充说:“Veeam 就是好用!由于其恢复速度快且易于管理,大家现在不 必每天都费心管理数据了。

我们可以将这些节省下来的时间放在改进企业的网络安全性上。实际上,我们 成功抵御了最近的网络犯罪攻击,而我们的同行却因此停摆了两周!”

最近,英之杰又实施了 Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 来备份 1000 多个帐户,从而允许员工和合作伙伴继续使用他们常用的平台,并实现 卓越的安全性。

成效

  • 每年节省 166,000 美元的存储成本
    在没有使用 Veeam 之前,英之杰已经累计使用了 10,000 多个磁带,磁带 的每月购买和存储成本超过 8,000 美元,并且全体员工都要手动备份和维 护磁带。现在,这些磁带中有 50% 以上进行了安全销毁并迁移到云端,从 而显著降低了成本。
  • 100% 的数据可用性提高了信心和品牌声誉
    通过在所有工作流中实施全自动化数据备份,曾经那些难以预测和频繁发生 的中断现在已成为过去式。强大的备份解决方案增强了英之杰及其客户与合 作伙伴的信心,100% 的数据可用性和安全性让大家高枕无忧。
  • 自动化和简化的灾难恢复流程
    Veeam Availability Orchestrator 可帮助英之杰实现灾难恢复流程的自动化 和简化,支持企业投入更多资源来发展业务并增强网络安全性。
Inchcape
本文对您是否有帮助,请打分:
5分(总分为 5 分,基于 1 次评分)
感谢您帮助我们不断进步!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.

公司:


英之杰澳大利亚有限公司是英之杰集团 公司的分公司。英之杰集团总部位于伦 敦,是全球最大的独立国际汽车零售商, 业务遍及 30 多个国家和地区,核心市 场包括澳大利亚、新加坡、香港、英国 和俄罗斯。

英之杰澳大利亚公司是一家知名汽车服务 公司,主要经营汽车分销、零售和物流业 务,在澳大利亚拥有 1,500 多名员工。 该公司与知名汽车品牌合作伙伴合作,代 理进口、零售和分销业务。

挑战:


英之杰一直为其运行 200 多个应用程 序的基础架构寻找一款值得信赖且易于 使用的数据管理解决方案。该公司之前 没有灾难恢复系统,而且基于磁带的备 份经常出现故障。任何因事务性停机导 致的中断都有可能造成每天数百万美元 的损失。英之杰亟需一款软件来帮助他 们实施自动化灾难恢复流程并降低业务 成本。

成效:

  • 避免因停机造成数百万美元的收入 损失
  • 每年节省 166,000 美元的存储成本
  • 自动化和简化的灾难恢复流程
  • 将节省下来的时间用在改善网络安 全上,从而增强各方的信任与信心
Inchcape
本文对您是否有帮助,请打分:
5分(总分为 5 分,基于 1 次评分)
感谢您帮助我们不断进步!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.

https://login.veeam.com/en/oauth?client_id=nXojRrypJ8&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.veeam.com%2Fservices%2Fauthentication%2Fredirect_url&response_type=code&scope=profile&state=eyJmaW5hbFJlZGlyZWN0TG9jYXRpb24iOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy52ZWVhbS5jb20vc3VjY2Vzcy1zdG9yaWVzL2luY2hjYXBlLmh0bWwiLCJoYXNoIjoiOTZjMWNjMzktZTg0MS00NTExLWIyNmYtMWRmMzYxMDZlNDFkIn0
1-800-691-1991 | 9am - 8pm ET
EN
Veeam eliminates costly outages for Inchcape and saves millions of dollars’ worth of transactions

The Business Challenge

As a large-scale automotive distributor representing more than 35 brand names in the industry, Inchcape Australia manages high volumes of fast-moving financial and transactional data. With more than 200 business applications running to support multiple lines of business from distribution, logistics, retail to inventory, the business needed a data management provider that could ensure continuous service levels. Anything less would dramatically impact revenue and brand reputation!

IT Operations Manager at Inchcape Australia, Darren Warner, had worked closely with Veeam in his previous role at CBRE Group, where he became an early adopter of Veeam’s Cloud Data Management solutions and wanted to replicate the rollout’s success at Inchcape.

Warner’s main goal in incorporating Veeam into Inchcape’s technology strategy was to ensure seamless service levels and customer satisfaction. He recalled, “Before we used Veeam, the business could suffer outages lasting up to 36 hours due to hardware failure. This resulted in Inchcape being unable to process any customer transactions or complete deliveries within this window. The blackouts cost the company millions of dollars in financial losses, not to mention customer trust.”

On top of that, the business was backing its data up to expensive tapes, which the business was spending almost $14,000 a month to purchase, store and manage. “With more than 10,000 tapes in our storage, no one actually knew where and how to retrieve data needed for backup,” said Warner.

He shared, “Before I joined the IT Operations team at Inchcape, there were no service level agreements in place, no disaster recovery strategy and systems were failing regularly. As such, the team considered the business to be in a state of high risk.”

The Veeam Solution

To address the outages caused by a combination of network issues, lack of change control processes and aging infrastructure, Inchcape’s IT Operations team worked with Veeam to initiate the rollout of the Veeam® Availability Suite™.

Warner’s team first set out to establish service level agreements to the business, categorizing all their applications into tiers and set corresponding Recovery Point Objective (RPO) and Recovery Time Objective (RTO) goals. Applications with the most financial impact, such as distribution or logistics were defined as Tier 1. Tiers 2 and below were attributed to processes that would have a lower impact on the business in the event of backup failure.

To achieve these new RPO and RTO goals, Inchcape’s executive team saw an immediate need to shift from tapes to a hybrid cloud environment, especially for Tier 1 applications that require faster recovery speeds. Warner’s team also introduced disk-based backup with over 200 virtual machines across Inchcape’s main office and offsite facilities, eventually achieving RPO and RTO of just 4 hours.

With 98% of its virtualized environment on VMware and Veeam’s close integration with Microsoft Azure and AWS cloud platforms, the migration experience from tape to disk and cloud-based storage was “virtually seamless”, shared Warner. The team also discovered an innovative use for Veeam® Backup and Replication™, applying it as a powerful migration tool to transfer data to the cloud, as well as new on-premise infrastructure, in minutes.

Inchcape has also made huge strides towards prioritizing data security and transparency for partners and customers. The Veeam® Availability Orchestrator’s automated testing and reporting function helps Warner’s team validate and document their disaster recovery process from end to end — including achievable RPO and RTO – ensuring that they meet compliance standards. This is essential for a business like Inchcape which works with luxury auto brands, playing an active role in upholding their reputations.

“Veeam Availability Orchestrator takes the pain out of orchestrating and maintaining 100% data availability, and it’s so efficient that we can even do testing during business hours, because it takes only 10 minutes or so,” Warner explained.

He added, “The great thing about Veeam is that it just works. Because of the speed of recovery and ease of management, no one is now managing data on a day-to-day basis.

With these time savings, we can now focus on improving cybersecurity for the business. In fact, we were able to defend our business against recent cybercriminal attacks that took our industry peers offline for two weeks!”

Most recently, Inchcape implemented Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to back up over 1,000 accounts, allowing both staff and partners to continue using the platforms they love with optimal security.

The Results

  • $166,000 storage costs saved per year
    Until Inchcape began using Veeam, it had accumulated over 10,000 tapes, costing over $8,000 a month to purchase and store, and a full headcount dedicated to manual tape backup and maintenance. More than 50% of these tapes have now been securely destroyed and migrated to the cloud which has significantly reduced costs.
  • 100% data Availability boosts confidence and brand reputation
    With 100% automated backup of data across all work streams, outages which were once unpredictable and frequent are now a thing of the past. This helped to boost confidence within the business and among Inchcape’s customers and partners, who are now assured of 100% data Availability and peace of mind that their data is always safe and secure.
  • Automated and simplified disaster recovery processes
    Veeam Availability Orchestrator helped Inchcape to automate and simplify its disaster recovery processes, enabling the business to invest more resources into growing the company and strengthening cybersecurity.
Inchcape
Please rate how helpful this article was to you:
5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings
Thank you for helping us improve!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.

Company:


Inchcape Australia Limited is part of the Inchcape group of companies. Headquartered in London, Inchcape plc is the world’s largest independent international automotive retailer, with operations in over 30 countries and core markets such as Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, the UK and Russia.

Inchcape Australia is a leading player in the automotive services sector operating in distribution, retail and logistics with more than 1,500 employees across Australia. The company imports and distributes retail quality vehicles on behalf of renowned brand partners in the automotive industry.

Challenge:


Inchcape was looking for a trusted and easy-to-use data management solution for its infrastructure running more than 200 applications. There was previously no disaster recovery system in place and their tape-based backups were failing frequently. Any outages could incur millions of dollars in losses every day due to transactional downtime. Inchcape needed to find a software that would enable them to automate the disaster recovery process and bring down business costs.

Results:

  • Prevented millions of dollars’ revenue lost to downtime
  • $166,000 storage costs saved per year
  • Automated and simplified disaster recovery processes
  • Time savings invested in cybersecurity, boosting trust and confidence
Inchcape
Please rate how helpful this article was to you:
5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings
Thank you for helping us improve!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.