Vertriebs-Hotline: +49 (800) 100 0058 | 08:00 - 18:00 CET | ENG, DEU, FRA, RUS
Deutsch

NEU Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5

enthält Veeam Backup & Replication und Veeam ONE

FAQ: Veeam Backup Essentials

Was ist Veeam Backup Essentials?

Veeam® Backup Essentials™ ermöglicht eine schnelle, zuverlässige und kostengünstige Sicherung und Wiederherstellung ALLER virtuellen, physischen und cloudbasierten Workloads (einschließlich VMware vSphere und Microsoft Hyper‑V) über eine zentrale Management-Konsole. Die Lösung kombiniert die branchenführenden Features von Veeam Backup & Replication™ mit den erweiterten Monitoring-, Reporting- und Kapazitätsplanungs-Tools von Veeam ONE™. Veeam Backup Essentials wurde für kleinere Unternehmen mit weniger als 250 Mitarbeitern und Umgebungen mit bis zu 6 CPU-Sockeln oder 30 Instanzen entwickelt und bietet denselben Funktionsumfang wie die Veeam Availability Suite™ bei einer Kostenersparnis von bis zu 60 %.

Veeam Backup Essentials ist in den drei Editionen Standard, Enterprise und Enterprise Plus erhältlich.

Neuerungen in Veeam Backup Essentials.

Das aktuelle Release von Veeam Backup Essentials definiert das Cloud-Datenmanagement neu und bietet Kunden die Möglichkeit, all ihre Workloads zu verwalten und zu schützen – virtuelle, physische und cloudbasierte. Es bietet:

  • 10-fache Ersparnis bei langfristiger Datenaufbewahrung durch native Objektspeicherintegration mit Veeam Cloud TierNEU
  • Support für Hybrid-Cloud-Datenmobilität mit einfacher Migration und Wiederherstellung nach AWS, Azure und Azure Stack mit Veeam Cloud MobilityNEU
  • Verbesserte Sicherheits- und Daten-Governance, inklusive DSGVO-Compliance und Malwareschutz mit Veeam DataLabs™ ERWEITERT 
  • Automatisierte Identifizierung und Lösung häufig auftretender Probleme mit Veeam ONE Intelligent Diagnostics
  • Support für Microsoft Windows 2019
  • RBAC-Support für VMware vSphere
  • Und vieles mehr!

Erfahren Sie mehr über die neuen Features!

Wie kann ich Veeam Backup Essentials erwerben?

Kunden können Veeam Backup Essentials entweder als unbefristete oder als Instanzlizenz (übertragbare Abonnementlizenz) erwerben.

Unbefristete Lizenzen können pro Sockel erworben werden und sind als 2-Sockel-Bundles für insgesamt bis zu 6 CPU-Sockel verfügbar.

Abonnementlizenzen sind verfügbar als ein- bis fünfjährige Lizenzen für 10 bis 30 Instanzen in 5-Instanzen-Bundles. Für Abonnementlizenzen müssen die Kunden Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 3 oder höher kaufen bzw. ein Upgrade vornehmen.

Um das Produkt zu kaufen, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihren bevorzugten Händler, suchen Sie einen Veeam-Händler in Ihrer Nähe oder fordern Sie ein Angebot vom Veeam-Vertrieb an.

Gelten Beschränkungen bei der Art und Weise des Produktkaufs oder bei der Anzahl der Veeam Backup Essentials-Bundles, die ich erwerben kann?
Kunden können unbefristete Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials kaufen, inklusive bis zu drei 2-Sockel-Bundles für insgesamt 6 CPU-Sockel, oder aber ein- bis fünfjährige Abonnementlizenzen für 10 bis 30 Instanzen in 5-VM-Bundles. Kunden können mehrere Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials erwerben. Da ein Zusammenführen der Lizenzen oder ein zentrales Management über einen Standort nicht möglich ist, müssen sie jedoch separat betrieben werden.
Wenn ich Veeam Backup Essentials für meine VMware-Umgebung verwende, benötige ich dann auch VMware vSphere Essentials?
Nein, aber eine VMware vSphere-Lizenz mit aktivierten vStorage APIs und vAAI-Features (mindestens VMware vSphere Essentials) ist erforderlich.
Gilt für die Nutzung von Veeam Backup Essentials in VMware-vSphere-Umgebungen ein anderer Preis als in Microsoft-Hyper-V-Umgebungen?
Nein. Die Preise von Veeam sind für alle Hypervisoren gleich.
Was passiert, wenn meine virtuelle Umgebung sowohl VMware vSphere als auch Microsoft Hyper-V umfasst?
Veeam-Lizenzen sind nicht an einen bestimmten Hypervisor gebunden. Sie können 2-Sockel-Bundles als unbefristete Lizenzen erwerben (für max. 6 Sockel) oder 10 bis 30 Instanzen (in 5-Instanzen-Bundles) als Abonnementlizenz, um diese für eine Kombination aus beliebigen Hypervisoren zu nutzen.
Bin ich zum Kauf von zusätzlichen Paketen von Veeam Backup Essentials berechtigt?
Sie können im Veeam-Kundenportal eine Supportanfrage stellen. Sollten Sie die maximal zulässige Anzahl an Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials erreicht haben, können Sie ganz einfach auf die Veeam Availability Suite upgraden; dieser unterstützt Umgebungen jeglicher Größe.
Ist Veeam Backup Essentials für VCSP (Veeam Cloud- und Serviceprovider) verfügbar?
Nein. VCSP-Partner können eine Abonnement- oder unbefristete Lizenz von Veeam Backup Essentials kaufen. Sie können sie jedoch nicht für die Verwaltung oder Sicherung von Drittanbieterdaten einsetzen.
Was ist die Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition?

Die Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition ist die perfekte Basis, um die Features und Funktionalitäten vonnbsp; Veeam Backup & Replication kennenzulernen. Die Community Edition bietet dieselbe Funktionalität wie die Veeam Backup & Replication Standard Edition – kostenlos für bis zu 10 Instanzen.

Sehen Sie sich die Features der Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition an.

Welche Unterschiede gibt es zwischen Veeam Backup Essentials und der Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition?
Die Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition eignet sich perfekt als kostenlose Einführung in die Features und Funktionalitäten von Veeam Backup & Replication, ist jedoch auf 10 Instanzen begrenzt, deren Funktionalität ähnlich der der Veeam Backup & Replication Standard Edition ist. Zudem profitieren die Nutzer nicht vom Veeam Kundensupport. Die Community Edition lässt sich nicht auf die umfangreicheren Editionen (Enterprise oder Enterprise Plus) upgraden und umfasst nicht die Monitoring-, Reporting- und Kapazitätsplanungsfeatures von Veeam ONE. Im Vergleich bietet Veeam Backup Essentials kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen dieselbe Funktionalität wie das Top-Produkt von Veeam, die Veeam Availability Suite: Veeam Backup & Replication und Veeam ONE sind zu einem deutlich geringeren Preis Teil des Pakets. Das Produkt kann in allen drei Editionen (Standard, Enterprise und Enterprise Plus) erworben werden, umfasst Standardsupport für das erste Jahr und kann für bis zu 6 CPU-Sockel oder 30 Instanzen lizenziert werden. So eignet es sich optimal für KMU, die zusätzliche, stabile Funktionalitäten und Unterstützung für wachsende Umgebungen mit mehr als 10 Instanzen benötigen.

Lizenzierung

Allgemeine Veeam-Lizenzinformationen z. B. zu den Lizenzkriterien und der Terminologie finden Sie hier.
Wie wird Veeam Backup Essentials lizenziert?

Für Veeam Backup Essentials gibt es zwei Kaufoptionen:

  1. Als unbefristete, sockelabhängige Lizenz mit Standard- oder Production-Support
  2. Durch Nutzung einer übertragbaren Abonnementlizenz, zu der 24x7-Production-Support gehört.

Bestimmte Features stehen aufgrund der Art der Umgebung bzw. der Workloads nur bei einer Abonnementlizenzierung zur Verfügung.

Unbefristete Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials basieren auf der Anzahl der CPU-Sockel (Pakete mit jeweils zwei Sockeln) auf Hosts mit virtuellen Maschinen (VMs), die gesichert, repliziert, überwacht oder in Reports erfasst werden sollen. Für jeden belegten Sockel auf der Hauptplatine wird eine Lizenz benötigt. Informationen zur Anzahl der belegten Sockel werden über die Hypervisor-API ausgelesen.

Bei Abonnementlizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials erfolgt die Lizenzierung pro Instanz (10 bis 30 Instanzen) in 5-Instanzen-Bundles. Angeboten werden ein- bis fünfjährige Abonnementlizenzen, die vollständig im Voraus oder jährlich bezahlt werden können. Erfahren Sie mehr über Abonnementlizenzen.

HINWEIS: Für Ziel-Hosts (für Replikations- und Migrationsjobs) ist keine Lizenzierung erforderlich.

Gibt es nur eine Lizenzdatei für Veeam Backup Essentials?
Ja, Sie erhalten für die Installation eine einzige Lizenzdatei. Diese Datei enthält zwei Komponenten (Veeam Backup & Replication und Veeam ONE).
Ist für irgendwelche Produktkomponenten (z. B. Backup-Server, Proxies oder Repositories) eine separate Lizenz erforderlich?
Nein. Die Produktkomponenten werden separat lizenziert. Sie können so viele dieser Komponenten bereitstellen, wie Sie möchten, solange die korrekte Anzahl an Sockeln bzw. Instanzen unter Lizenz steht.
Kann ein Kunde mehr als eine Edition in seiner Umgebung verwenden?

Nein. An einem Standort kann nur jeweils eine Edition (Standard, Enterprise oder Enterprise Plus) genutzt werden. Wenn Sie mehrere Standorte über einen Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager verwalten möchten, müssen außerdem an allen Standorten dieselben Editionen verwendet werden.

Diese Anforderung gilt für alle Deployments von Veeam Backup Essentials, auch in Umgebungen mit mehreren Hypervisoren und einer Kombination aus Abonnement- und unbefristeten Lizenzen.

Kunden, die ein Upgrade auf die Enterprise oder Enterprise Plus Edition vornehmen möchten, müssen alle vorhandenen Lizenzen upgraden, um ihre Lizenzen in einer Datei zusammenzuführen.

Gibt es eine einzige Lizenzdatei für Veeam Backup Essentials?
Ja. Sie erhalten eine einzelne Lizenzdatei, die Sie installieren. Sie enthält zwei Komponenten: Veeam Backup & Replication und Veeam ONE.
Kann ich meine Lizenz für Veeam Backup Essentials mit den Lizenzen meiner anderen Veeam-Produkte kombinieren?
Nein. Da Veeam Backup Essentials im Bundle mit anderen Produkten zu Sonderpreisen erhältlich ist, ist eine separate Lizenzierung zusammen mit anderen Produkten nicht möglich.
Was muss beim Installieren von Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 4 beachtet werden?
Kunden, die bereits Abonnements haben, müssen ihre Lizenzdatei aktualisieren, bevor sie Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 4 installieren. Dies geschieht im Nutzerportal. Wenden Sie sich für weitere Informationen an den Support.

Upgrades

Wie muss ich vorgehen, wenn meine virtuelle Umgebung über 6 Sockel bzw. 30 Instanzen hinauswächst?

Es gibt vier Möglichkeiten. Erstens: Sie lizenzieren Veeam Backup Essentials unbefristet für sechs Sockel, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Ihre Umgebung mit diesem Arrangement wie erforderlich schützen können. Wenn Ihre Umgebung aus diesem Szenario herauswächst, ist eine Lizenzierung für die Veeam Availability Suite oder Veeam Backup & Replication die beste Lösung. Ihnen werden beide Produkte zur Preisdifferenz zwischen Ihrem derzeitig verwendeten Produkt (Veeam Backup Essentials) und dem Produkt, auf das Sie upgraden möchten (entweder die Veeam Availability Suite oder Veeam Backup & Replication), angeboten. Alle Sockel und Instanzen können zentral verwaltet werden. Eine vierte Möglichkeit ist der Erwerb einer zusätzlichen Lizenz für Veeam Backup Essentials, bei der diese Installation separat verwaltet wird.

Wir empfehlen Unternehmen, die derzeit Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials sowie für einzeln lizenzierte Veeam-Produkte besitzen, sich an einen Veeam Ansprechpartner im Vertrieb zu wenden, um die geeigneten Upgrade-Optionen zu besprechen.

Was passiert mit meiner Veeam-ONE-Lizenz beim Upgrade von Veeam Backup Essentials auf Veeam Backup & Replication?
Bei einem Upgrade von Veeam Backup Essentials auf Veeam Backup & Replication wird Ihre Veeam-ONE-Lizenz ungültig und Sie sind nicht länger berechtigt, Support oder Wartung für Veeam ONE zu erhalten. Sie müssen in diesem Fall eine Erklärung zur Vernichtung von Veeam ONE unterzeichnen und einreichen und die Nutzung des Produkts einstellen.
Ich besitze die Veeam Availability Suite oder Veeam Backup & Replication (für max. 3 Sockel bzw. 25 Instanzen). Kann ich diese zu Veeam Backup Essentials konvertieren?
Ja, SKUs für die Produktkonvertierung stehen zur Verfügung. Mit diesen SKUs können Kunden, die die Veeam Availability Suite oder Veeam Backup & Replication (für max. 3 Sockel bzw. 25 Instanzen) erworben haben, zur entsprechenden Produktedition von Veeam Backup Essentials konvertieren. Eine Erklärung zur Vernichtung ist nicht erforderlich. Wenden Sie sich für ein Angebot zur Konvertierung zu Veeam Backup Essentials bitte an den Veeam-Vertrieb oder Ihren bevorzugten ProPartner.
Ich besitze derzeit Veeam Backup & Replication oder Veeam ONE. Kann ich Veeam Backup Essentials erwerben?
Bestandskunden von Veeam Backup & Replication oder Veeam ONE dürfen Veeam Backup Essentials nicht erwerben. Diese Kunden müssen entweder ein Upgrade auf die Veeam Availability Suite vornehmen oder zusätzliche Lizenzen für die einzelnen Produkte erwerben.
Welche weiteren Voraussetzungen gelten in Bezug auf Lizenzierung und Installation für die Verwaltung von Linux-basierten und Windows-basierten Agenten über Veeam Backup Essentials?
Für die Nutzung der Agentenmanagement-Funktionalität muss das Redistributable Package von Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.1 oder einer neueren Version und/oder Veeam Agent for Linux v2 oder einer neueren Version zusammen mit Veeam Backup & Replication installiert sein.
Wie muss ich beim Upgrade meiner Lizenz auf eine andere Edition vorgehen?
Besuchen Sie das Veeam-Lizenzportal, um ein Upgrade vorzunehmen. In diesem Editionsvergleich ist erläutert, welche Features in den jeweiligen Editionen enthalten sind.
Wie muss ich beim Upgrade meiner Lizenz vorgehen?
Sie benötigen eine neue Lizenzdatei, selbst wenn Sie kein Upgrade Ihrer Edition vornehmen möchten. Bitte besuchen Sie das Veeam-Lizenzportal, um eine neue Lizenzdatei herunterzuladen.
Wie verlängere ich den Supportvertrag für meine unbefristeten Lizenzen?
Zur Verlängerung Ihres Supportvertrags füllen Sie eine Angebotsanforderung für Vertragsverlängerungen aus.
Was versteht man unter der automatischen Aktualisierung von Lizenzen?
Seit v7 Patch 4 unterstützt Veeam Backup & Replication (in Veeam Backup Essentials enthalten) automatische Lizenzupdates. Wenn dieses Feature aktiviert ist, kommuniziert der Veeam-Backup-Server (bzw. der Server von Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager, falls installiert) proaktiv mit dem Veeam-Lizenzportal, um eine neue Lizenz anzufordern, bevor die aktuelle Lizenz abläuft. Weitere Informationen zum Aktivieren dieses Features finden Sie im Benutzerhandbuch zu vSphere und im Benutzerhandbuch zu Hyper-V für Veeam Backup & Replication.
Mein Unternehmen besitzt derzeit max. sechs Sockel von Veeam Backup Essentials. Kann ich Lizenzen für die Veeam Availability Suite oder Veeam Backup & Replication erwerben?
Ja. Um einen Schlüssel für eine zusammengeführte Lizenz (mit Lizenzen für Veeam Backup Essentials) zu erhalten, ist ein Upgrade dieser Lizenzen auf die Veeam Availability Suite oder auf Veeam Backup & Replication erforderlich.

Haben Sie weitere Fragen?

Nehmen Sie an einer unserer Live-Produktdemos teil oder wenden Sie sich an Ihren Veeam-Vertriebsmitarbeiter.

Sales Hotline: 1-800-691-1991 8am - 8pm ET
English

NEW Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5

includes Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE

FAQ: Veeam Backup Essentials

What is Veeam Backup Essentials?

Veeam® Backup Essentials™ delivers fast, reliable and affordable backup and recovery for ALL workloads — virtual, physical and cloud (including VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper‑V) — from a single management console. It combines the backup, restore and replication capabilities of Veeam Backup & Replication™ with the advanced monitoring, reporting and capacity planning functionality of Veeam ONE™. Designed for smaller businesses with less than 250 employees and environments no larger than 6 CPU sockets or 30 instances, Veeam Backup Essentials delivers the same enterprise-level functionality as Veeam Availability Suite™ with a savings of up to 60%.

Veeam Backup Essentials is offered in three product editions — Standard, Enterprise and Enterprise Plus.

What’s new in Veeam Backup Essentials?

The latest release of Veeam Backup Essentials redefines cloud data management by offering customers the ability to manage and protect ALL workloads — virtual, physical and cloud! It provides:

  • Up to 10x savings on long-term data retention costs using native object storage integration with Veeam Cloud TierNEW
  • Achieve easy portability and recovery of ANY on-premises or cloud-based workloads to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with Veeam Cloud MobilityNEW
  • Increased security and compliance, including GDPR and malware prevention, with Veeam DataLabs™ ENHANCED 
  • Reduced management and support costs through proactive resolution of configuration problems with Veeam ONE Intelligent Diagnostics
  • Support for Microsoft Windows 2019
  • RBAC support for VMware vSphere
  • And much more!

Learn more about the new features!

How do I purchase Veeam Backup Essentials?

Customers can purchase Veeam Backup Essentials through either a perpetual or an instance license (a subscription-style license that’s portable).

Perpetual licenses are purchased per socket and come in 2-socket bundles up to a maximum of 6 CPU sockets.

Instance licenses are available in one- to five-year licenses for 10 to 30 instances, packaged in 5 instance bundles. Organizations must purchase or upgrade to Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 3 or newer for instance licensing.

To purchase, please contact your preferred reseller, find a Veeam reseller in your area or place an inquiry with Veeam sales.

If I am using Veeam Backup Essentials for my VMware environment, does it also require VMware vSphere Essentials?
No, but it does require a VMware vSphere license with unlocked "vStorage APIs" and "vAAI" features (at least VMware vSphere Essentials).
Is there a difference in price for using Veeam Backup Essentials for VMware vSphere environments in comparison to Microsoft Hyper-V environments?
No, Veeam maintains price parity across hypervisors.
What if my virtual environment includes both VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V?
Veeam licenses are not hypervisor-specific. You can purchase 2-socket bundles on a perpetual basis (up to a maximum of 6 sockets) or between 10 to 30 instances (in 5-instance bundles) through an instance license and utilize them for any mix of hypervisors.
How do I know whether I’m eligible to purchase additional bundles of Veeam Backup Essentials?
You can open a licensing case at the Veeam Customer Portal. If you have reached your purchase limit for Veeam Backup Essentials, Veeam makes it easy for you to upgrade to Veeam Availability Suite, which supports environments of any size.
Is Veeam Backup Essentials available for Veeam Cloud & Service Provider (VCSP) usage?
No. VCSP partners are welcome to obtain an instance or perpetual license of Veeam Backup Essentials, however, they may not use it to manage or protect third-party data.
What is Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition?

Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition offers an excellent introduction to the features and functionality of Veeam Backup & Replication. The Community Edition delivers the same functionality as Veeam Backup & Replication Standard Edition at no cost for up to 10 instances.

Compare the features of Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition.

How does Veeam Backup Essentials compare to Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition?
While Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition offers users an excellent, free of charge introduction to the features and functionalities of Veeam Backup & Replication, it is limited to 10 instances with functionality comparable to Veeam Backup & Replication’s Standard Edition. Further, users cannot benefit from Veeam Customer Support, upgrade Community Edition to the more feature-rich edition options (i.e. Enterprise or Enterprise Plus), and it does not include the monitoring, reporting and capacity planning functionality of Veeam ONE. In comparison, Veeam Backup Essentials offers SMBs the same functionality as Veeam’s flagship product, Veeam Availability Suite, by including both Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE at a significantly discounted price. It can be purchased in all three editions (Standard, Enterprise, or Enterprise Plus), comes with Basic Support for the first year, and can be licensed for use for up to 6 CPU sockets or 30 instances, making it an excellent choice for SMBs requiring additional robust functionality and support for growing environments larger than 10 instances.

Licensing

General Veeam licensing information, including licensing criteria and terminology, can be viewed here.

Veeam Backup Essentials can be purchased in two ways:

  1. Using a perpetual, per-socket license with basic or production maintenance
  2. Through use of a portable instance license, which includes 24x7 Production Support.

Certain features may be offered only with instance licensing due to the nature of the environment or workload.

Perpetual licenses of Veeam Backup Essentials are licensed in CPU sockets (2-socket bundles) on hosts with virtual machines (VMs) to be backed up, replicated, monitored or reported on. A license is required for each occupied motherboard socket as reported by the hypervisor API.

Instance licenses of Veeam Backup Essentials are portable subscription licenses sold in bundles of  10 to 30 instances, and packaged in 5-instance bundles. There are one- to five-year instance licensing terms available, and customers can choose to purchase instance license bundles upfront or pay annually. Learn more about portable- instance licensing here.

Note: Target hosts (for replication and migration jobs) do not need to be licensed.    

Is there a single license file for Veeam Backup Essentials?
Yes, you get a single license file that you install, and that license file contains two components (Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE).
Are any product components (backup servers, backup proxies, backup repositories) licensed separately?
No, the product components are not licensed separately. You can deploy as many of these components as you like while licensed to the correct number of sockets or instances.
Can a customer have more than one edition in an environment?

No, only one edition (Standard, Enterprise or Enterprise Plus) can be used in the same physical location. Furthermore, all licensed editions must be the same across multiple locations to manage them through one Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager.

This requirement applies to all Veeam Backup Essentials deployments, including multi-hypervisor environments and environments that include some perpetual and some instance licenses.

Current customers who wish to upgrade to Enterprise or Enterprise Plus must upgrade all current licenses to receive a merged license file.

Is there a single license file for Veeam Backup Essentials?
Yes, you get a single license file that you install, and that license file contains two components (Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE).
Can I merge my Veeam Backup Essentials license with the licenses for my other Veeam products?
No, since Veeam Backup Essentials provides special bundled pricing, the products cannot be unbundled and combined with individually licensed products, including other licenses of Veeam Backup Essentials.
Is there any required action when installing Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 4?
Yes, existing subscription customers, prior to January 22, 2019, will be required to update their license file upon installing Veeam Backup Essentials 9.5 Update 4. This process will be handled in the user portal. Contact Support for more information.

Upgrades

What do I do when my virtual environment grows beyond 6 sockets / 30 Instances?

You have four options. First, you can license Veeam Backup Essentials perpetually for six sockets to determine if this arrangement provides proper protection for your environment. If your environment has outgrown this scenario, then licensing either Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication is your best option. Both products are offered for the difference in price between the product you’re upgrading from (Veeam Backup Essentials) to the price of the product you’re upgrading to (either Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication) and all sockets and instances can be centrally managed. A fourth option is to purchase an additional license of Veeam Backup Essentials and manage this installation separately.

It is recommended that organizations currently holding licenses for Veeam Backup Essentials and any individually licensed Veeam product contact a Veeam sales representative to discuss appropriate upgrade options.

What happens to my Veeam ONE license if I upgrade from Veeam Backup Essentials to Veeam Backup & Replication?
If you upgrade from Veeam Backup Essentials to Veeam Backup & Replication, your Veeam ONE license is invalidated, and you are no longer eligible for support or maintenance for Veeam ONE. You are required to sign and submit a Letter of Destruction for Veeam ONE, and you should discontinue use of it.
I currently own Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication (for 3 sockets or less / 25 Instances or less). Can I convert to Veeam Backup Essentials?
Yes, there are product conversion SKUs available. These SKUs will allow customers who have purchased Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication (for 3 or less sockets / 25 Instances or less) to convert to the equivalent product edition of Veeam Backup Essentials. No Letter of Destruction is required. To request conversion to Veeam Backup Essentials, please contact Veeam sales or your preferred ProPartner.
I currently own Veeam Backup & Replication (or Veeam ONE). Can I buy Veeam Backup Essentials?
Current Veeam Backup & Replication or Veeam ONE customers are not allowed to purchase Veeam Backup Essentials. These customers should either upgrade to Veeam Availability Suite or purchase additional licenses for the single products.
What licensing and installation details are required to manage Linux-based and Windows-based agents from Veeam Backup Essentials?
Utilization of agent management functionality requires the additional installation of the redistributable package of Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.1 or later and / or Veeam Agent for Linux v2 or later with Veeam Backup Essentials. Agent licenses are available on a subscription / instance basis and can be utilized for either Linux- or Microsoft Windows-based workloads.
How do I upgrade my license to another edition?
To upgrade, please visit the Veeam Licensing Portal. Please see this comparison to understand which features are included in each edition.
How do I upgrade my license?
You will need a new license file, even if you do not plan to upgrade your edition. Please visit the Veeam Licensing Portal to download a new license file.
How do I renew support for my perpetual licenses?
To renew your support, please complete a request for a renewal quote.
What is automatic license update?
Starting with v7 patch 4, Veeam Backup & Replication, included in Veeam Backup Essentials, supports automatic license updates. With this feature enabled, Veeam backup server (or Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager server if deployed) proactively communicates with the Veeam licensing portal to receive a new license before the current license expires. For more information on how to enable this feature, please review the Veeam Backup & Replication User Guide for vSphere and for Hyper-V.
My organization currently owns Veeam Backup Essentials. Can I buy licenses of Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication?
Yes, however, to get a merged key (which would include Veeam Backup Essentials licenses), customers should either upgrade those licenses to Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup & Replication.

Do you have more questions?

Attend one of our live product demos or contact your Veeam sales representative.