销售热线: +86-10-5643-8388 | 09:00 - 18:00(北京时间 ) | 中文、英文
中文(简体)

Volvo Car BeLux

Company:

第一辆量产的 Volvo 汽车于 1927 年 从瑞典哥德堡的生产线下线。如 今,Volvo 已成为全球最著名、最 受尊敬的汽车品牌之一。Volvo 汽 车通过大约 2300 家独立经销商在 近 100 个国家/地区进行市场推广 和销售。

Challenge:

对比利时的 Volvo 经销商而言,使 用磁带备份物理服务器成本过高, 因为他们的数据在不断增长,而且 购买额外磁带驱动器费用高昂。除 了扩展能力外,经销商还担忧高昂 的硬件更新成本、人为错误风险以 及缓慢的应用程序恢复过程。恢复 过程可能持续几个小时甚至长达一 天,而这会严重影响他们访问经销 商管理系统。

Results:

  • 可靠、无忧的异地备份
  • 可扩展、能经受未来考验 的数据恢复
  • 经销商管理系统保持极高 的可用性

About Simac:

Simac 是比荷卢经济联盟地区一 家领先的 ICT 集成商,提供从咨 询直至端到端集成、远程监控和 外包的多样化服务。凭借逾 40 年 的行业经验,Simac 对 ICT 基础架 构的每个层面都有深入的了解。 2014 年,Simac ICT Belgium 被评 为比利时增速最快的 Veeam Software 合作伙伴。该公司拥有 一支由 200 名资深顾问、服务工 程师、项目经理和服务质量经理 组成的团队。

业务挑战

Volvo Car BeLux 是一家汽车进口商,作为 Volvo 汽车集团的子公司,服务对象是位于 比利时和卢森堡的大约 70 家 Volvo 独立经销商。Volvo Car BeLux 还为经销商提供销 售、营销和 IT 咨询服务。

尽管 Volvo 经销商的主业是汽车销售和维修而不是 IT 管理,但保障数据安全以及能 随时调取所需数据对其业务至关重要。他们依赖的关键应用程序之一是一款经销商 管理系统,该系统对每笔汽车销售和每个客户(从潜在客户到买家再到售后服务的全 程)进行追踪。该系统还会连接经销商与 Volvo Car BeLux,提供库存规划、订购和管 理功能。

每一家经销商都有本地 IT 基础架构。在过去,经销商将其物理服务器备份到本地磁 带上;不过,随着数据量的增长,磁带备份已不切实际,因为购买额外磁带驱动器的 成本不菲。除了扩展能力外,经销商还担忧高昂的硬件更新成本、人为错误风险以及 漫长的数据恢复过程。且后者相当严重,因为只有在备份成功的情况下才能进行数据 恢复。

“经销商希望其经销业务每时每刻都能保持正常运行,”Volvo Car BeLux 的 IT 项目经理 Marc Scheir 说。“他们希望专注于自己最擅长的领域 — 销售和维修 Volvo 汽车。他们 自行管理 IT,因此聘请第三方 ICT 提供商推荐了一套能为其实现高可用性的流程。”

领先的技术集成商 Simac ICT Belgium 建议将经销商的数据和应用程序虚拟化到 VMware vSphere 平台上,以精简 IT 和降低运营成本。

“此外,我们还建议采用更加智能、扩展能力更强并且能经受未来考验的流程进行数据 备份和恢复,”Simac ICT Belgium 客户经理 Christophe Lonnoy 说。“他们的目标是 实现高可用性,而相应的可用性解决方案只有一个。”

VEEAM 解决方案

Veeam® Backup & Replication™ 可快速、灵活且可靠地恢复虚拟化应用程序和数据。

“ Veeam 是我们唯一信任的解决方案,因为它帮助我们在四小时内成功完成了恢 复,”Scheir 说。

“现在经销商非常放心,因为他们知道,备份在异地进行并且随时可以快速恢复。他们损 失数据的风险已大大降低,因为 Simac 和 Veeam 可以帮助他们快速恢复正常运行。”

Simac 全面负责比利时多家 Volvo 经销商的 IT 事务。Simac 会为他们上门安装 VMware vSphere 并将其数据和应用程序虚拟化。Simac 会将每家经销商的内部部署虚拟机 (VM) 本地备份至 Synology NAS,并将备份副本传送到 Simac 安全的私有云。即便经 销商遭遇火灾等灾难性情形,Simac 也可利用 Veeam 在四小时内从云端还原其虚拟 机,从而最大限度地减轻对业务运营的影响。

借助于 Veeam,Simac 不仅能够在四小时期限内轻松还原经销商的虚拟机,还依靠 Veeam 强大的恢复能力确保可用性。例如,即时虚拟机恢复 (Instant VM Recovery®) 可让 Simac 在数分钟内利用定期备份重新启动发生故障的虚拟机。借助 Veeam Explorer™ for Microsoft Active Directory、Exchange、SharePoint 和 SQL Server, Simac 同样可以在数分钟内恢复个别项目。

“Veeam Backup & Replication 和 VMware 是 Volvo 经销商的完美之选,”Lonnoy 说。 “与我们的许多客户一样,他们也需要一套由内部部署 IT 基础架构、异地备份副本和 恢复组成的混合型系统。他们希望通过我们去管理其 IT 事务,以便他们集中精力发 展业务。我们向客户提供的虚拟化方案因 Veeam 而完美。”

结果

可靠、无忧的异地备份
Volvo 经销商过去使用磁带备份其物理服务器时,他们担心漫长的应用程序恢复 过程会妨碍他们访问其经销商管理系统。Simac 现已承担起为经销商进行备份 和恢复的责任,利用 Veeam Backup & Replication 在本地备份每家经销商的内部 部署虚拟机。备份副本将传送至 Simac 的私有云。

可扩展、能经受未来考验的数据恢复
Veeam Backup & Replication 可为任何规模的业务提供企业级扩展能力。无论每 家经销商的数据集增长到多么庞大,Veeam 和 Simac 都能快速完成整个虚拟机、 操作系统文件以及个别项目的备份和恢复。

经销商管理系统保持极高的可用性
Volvo 经销商信赖 Veeam 和 Simac 为其关键应用程序提供高可用性,让他们能够 专注于汽车销售和客户服务。

Volvo Car BeLux
Please rate how helpful this article was to you:
4.7 out of 5 based on 5 ratings
Thank you for helping us improve!
An error occurred during voting. Please try again later.

Full list of Success Stories >
Volvo Dealers Cruise to High Availability with Simac and Veeam
Volvo Car BeLux

Volvo Dealers Cruise to High Availability with Simac and Veeam

Veeam was the only solution we trusted to recover within four hours. Now dealers have peace of mind knowing their backups are offsite and readily available for fast recovery. They’ve greatly minimised their risk for data loss because Simac and Veeam will get them up and running quickly.

Company:

The first mass-produced Volvo car rolled off the production line in Gothenburg, Sweden, in 1927. Today, Volvo is one of the most well-known and respected car brands in the world. Volvo cars are marketed and sold through approximately 2,300 independent dealers in nearly 100 countries.

Industry:

Manufacturing

Challenge:

Backing up physical servers to tape became cost-prohibitive for Volvo dealers in Belgium because their data was constantly growing, and purchasing additional tape drives was expensive. In addition to scalability, dealers worried about expensive hardware refreshes, the risk for human error and slow application recovery. It could take a few hours or up to one day, jeopardizing their ability to access the lifeblood of their business: the dealer management system.

results:

  • Reliable, worry-free offsite backup
  • Scalable, future-proof data recovery
  • High availability of dealer management system

About Simac:

Simac is a leading ICT integrator in the Benelux region that provides a service portfolio ranging from consultancy to end-to-end integration, remote monitoring and outsourcing. With more than 40 years experience, Simac has an in-depth knowledge of every aspect of ICT infrastructures. Simac ICT Belgium was named Veeam Software’s fastest growth partner in Belgium in 2014. The firm has a team of 200 experienced consultants, service engineers, project managers and service-level managers.

The Business Challenge

Volvo Car BeLux, which is part of the Volvo Car Group, is the automotive importer for the approximately 70 independent Volvo dealerships in Belgium and Luxembourg. Volvo Car BeLux also provides dealers with consultative services for sales, marketing and IT.

Volvo dealers are focused on selling and servicing cars, not IT administration, yet it is paramount to the business that their data is secure and available whenever they need it. One of key applications they rely on is a dealer management system that tracks each car sale and customer, from prospect to buyer to aftercare. The system also connects dealers to Volvo Car BeLux for inventory planning, ordering and management.

Each dealership has an onsite IT infrastructure. In the past, dealers backed up their physical servers on site to tape; however, as data grew, backup to tape was no longer feasible because purchasing additional tape drives was costly. In addition to scalability, dealers worried about expensive hardware refreshes, the risk of human error and a lengthy process for data recovery. The latter was quite serious because data could only be recovered if the backup had been successful.

“Dealers want their dealerships up and running 100% of the time,” said Marc Scheir, IT Project Manager at Volvo Car BeLux. “They want to focus on what they do best—selling and servicing Volvo cars. They are responsible for their own IT, so we asked a third-party ICT provider to recommend a process that would ensure high availability for them.”

Simac ICT Belgium, a leading technology integrator, recommended virtualising dealers’ data and applications on VMware vSphere to streamline IT and reduce operational costs.

“We also suggested a more intelligent, scalable and future-proof process for data backup and recovery,” said Christophe Lonnoy, Account Manager at Simac ICT Belgium. “Their goal is high availability, and there’s only one solution for availability.”

The Veeam Solution

Veeam® Backup & Replication™ provides fast, flexible and reliable recovery of virtualised applications and data.

“Veeam was the only solution we trusted to recover within four hours,” Scheir said.

“Now dealers have peace of mind knowing their backups are offsite and readily available for fast recovery. They’ve greatly minimised their risk for data loss because Simac and Veeam will get them up and running quickly.”

Simac takes full responsibility for many Volvo dealers’ IT in Belgium. Simac goes onsite, installs VMware vSphere for them and virtualises their data and applications. Simac backs up each dealer’s on-premise virtual machines (VMs) on site to Synology NAS, and backup copies are sent to Simac’s secure, private cloud. If a dealership finds itself in a catastrophic situation such as a fire, Simac uses Veeam to restore its VMs from the cloud within four hours to minimise impact on business operations.

With Veeam, Simac not only performs restores of dealers’ VMs well within the four-hour timeframe, Simac also relies on Veeam’s powerful recovery capabilities to ensure availability. For example, Instant VM Recovery® lets Simac restart a failed VM from a regular backup in minutes. With Veeam Explorer™ for Microsoft Active Directory, Exchange, SharePoint and SQL Server, Simac recovers individual items — also in minutes.

“Veeam Backup & Replication and VMware are perfect for Volvo dealers,” Lonnoy said. “Like many of our clients, they want a hybrid system composed of an on-premise IT infrastructure and offsite backup copies and recovery. They want us to focus on their IT so they can focus on their business. Veeam completes our virtualisation offering to clients.”

The Results

Reliable, worry-free offsite backup
When Volvo dealers backed up their physical servers to tape, they worried about lengthy application recovery preventing them from accessing their dealer management system. Simac has assumed responsibility of backup and recovery for dealers, using Veeam Backup & Replication to back up each dealer’s on-premise VMs on site. Backup copies are sent to Simac’s private cloud.

Scalable, future-proof data recovery
Veeam Backup & Replication provides enterprise scalability for any size business. No matter how large each dealer’s dataset grows, Veeam and Simac will back up and recover whole VMs, operating system files and individual items quickly.

High availability of dealer management system
Volvo dealers trust Veeam and Simac to deliver high availability of the key applications that enable them to focus on selling cars and taking care of customers.

Rating: 4 / 5 ( 13 votes cast)

Why Veeam?

Try now

How to buy

Why choose Veeam solutions

Veeam Backup & Replication
free 30-day trial
Licensing and buying options