Service Provider has Cloud Bin enabled, resulting in all tenant cloud-based jobs ending with a ‘Warning’ result, regardless of actual job results.

KB ID: 2439
Product: Veeam Backup & Replication Cloud Edition
Version: 9.5
Published:
Last Modified: 2019-05-10

Challenge

Service Provider has Cloud Bin enabled, resulting in all tenant cloud-based jobs ending with a ‘Warning’ result, regardless of actual job results:
"Your service provider has implemented backup files protection against deletion by an insider for this cloud repository"

Cause

If the tenant plans to create off-site backups with a backup copy job, they should enable GFS retention settings in the job properties. This way, Veeam Backup & Replication will be able to protect backups created with the job against an attack when a hacker reduces the job's retention policy and creates a few incremental backups to remove backed-up data from the backup chain.

With GFS retention settings enabled, the backup chain will contain a sequence of full backups that will not merge according to a retention policy. After such a backup is moved to the "recycle bin", the tenant will be able to use it for data restore.

If the tenant does not enable GFS retention settings for the backup copy job, the job will complete with a warning. In the job statistics window, Veeam Backup & Replication will display a notification advising to use the GFS retention scheme for the job. Note that the warning is displayed only if the tenant backup server runs Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 3 or later. In earlier versions of Veeam Backup & Replication, the warning will not be displayed, and the backup copy job will complete with the Success status.

Solution

Apply the following registry key on the tenant OR provider server:

Value Name: CloudConnectBinGfsNotificationSeverity
Path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\ 
Type: REG_DWORD
Veeam version: 9.5U3 and later
Default value: 2
Description: regulates the warning message about enabling GFS when CloudBin is turned on the SP side. 0 - disable message; 1 - informational; 2 - warning; 3 - error; 4 - job fail. Can be also enabled on the tenant side, in which case it overrides a value on the SP side.

More Information

Please be aware that we’re making changes which will restrict access to product updates for users without an active contract.

OK

Rate the quality of this KB article: 
4.3 out of 5 based on 13 ratings

Couldn't find what you were looking for?

Below you can submit an idea for a new knowledge base article.

Request new content

Report a typo on this page:

Please select a spelling error or a typo on this page with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter to report this mistake to us. Thank you!

Spelling error in text:

Submit