Restricting Veeam Backup for Azure Permissions to Resource Group

KB ID: 4262
Product: Veeam Backup for Microsoft Azure | 3.0 | 4.0
Published: 2021-12-29
Last Modified: 2022-08-10
Get weekly article updates
By subscribing, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Notice.

Cheers for trusting us with the spot in your mailbox!

Now you’re less likely to miss what’s been brewing in our knowledge base with this weekly digest

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

Challenge

When deploying Veeam backup for Azure, and initially adding the Azure account, it must have the Microsoft.Authorization/*/Write permissions assigned in the subscription associated with the backup appliance.

After deployment, the account can then be restricted to only allow full permission on the Resource Groups that will host the tenant's Azure VMs, virtual networking, and storage account.

However, as a result of the restricted permissions, attempting to Restore to the original location when the original VM is still present will fail.

Cause

When restoring a VM to the original location, if the original VM is detected as still being present, the following steps are performed:

  1. VM is restored to a temporary Resource Group
  2. The Original VM is deleted from the original Resource Group
  3. The Restored VM is moved from the temporary Resource Group to the original one
     

When the permissions are restricted to only a specific Resource Group, Veeam cannot create the temporary Resource Group, and the restore operation fails.

Solution

To work around this issue either:

  • (a) assign adequate permissions to allow the temporary Resource Group to be created

    or 
  • (b) delete the original VM before performing a restore to the original location.
    If the original VM is not present, the "Restore to original location" procedure will not need to create the temporary Resource Group, and will instead restore the VM directly to the original Resource Group.

More Information

A temporary Resource Group is utilized as a part of the Restore to the original location only when the original VM exists because it is currently impossible to rename resources in Azure. This means that Veeam cannot simply restore the VM to the original location with a temporary name, remove the original VM, and rename the restored VM.
Send Article Feedback
To report a typo on this page, highlight the typo with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter.

Spelling error in text

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

KB Feedback/Suggestion

This form is only for KB Feedback/Suggestions, if you need help with the software open a support case

By submitting, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Notice.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Verify your email to continue your product download
We've sent a verification code to:
  • Incorrect verification code. Please try again.
An email with a verification code was just sent to
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend in sec
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.