NOUVEAU Veeam Availability Suite 9.5 Comprend Veeam Backup & Replication et Veeam ONE

Questions fréquentes concernant Veeam Availability Suite

Qu’est-ce que Veeam Availability Suite 9.5 ?

Veeam® Availability Suite™ 9.5 apporte de nouvelles capacités puissantes et assure la disponibilité de TOUS les workloads (virtuels, physiques et cloud) à partir d’une console d’administration unique. Veeam Availability Suite assure l’Availability for the Always-On Enterprise™ en associant les fonctionnalités de sauvegarde, de restauration et de réplication de Veeam Backup & Replication™ et les fonctionnalités avancées de supervision, de reporting et de capacity planning de Veeam ONE™.


Quelles sont les nouveautés de Veeam Availability Suite 9.5 ?

Cette dernière version de Veeam Availability Suite donne aux clients la capacité d’administrer et de protéger TOUS leurs workloads (virtuels, physiques et cloud) à partir d’une console de gestion Veeam unique. Elle comporte aussi de nouveaux partenariats stratégiques et de nouvelles intégrations, aux stockages IBM Spectrum Virtualize et Lenovo Storage V Series afin de réduire les RTOs et les RPOs, ainsi qu’une nouvelle administration des données, de nouvelles analytiques et le reporting de conformité pour les workloads physiques et cloud.

Découvrez les nouvelles fonctionnalités de la version 9.5


Puis-je disposer d’une supervision, d’un reporting et d’un capacity planning avancés pour la sauvegarde sans acheter Veeam Availability Suite ?

Ces fonctionnalités sont uniquement disponibles dans les environnements où les versions 6.5 (ou ultérieures) de Veeam Backup & Replication et de Veeam ONE sont déployées. Pour bénéficier de toutes les fonctionnalités intégrées à la 9.5, vous devez exécuter la 9.5 des deux produits.


Y a-t-il une différence de prix entre les versions VMware vSphere et Microsoft Hyper-V de Veeam Availability Suite ?

Non. Veeam maintient la parité des prix entre hyperviseurs, ce qui facilite également les migrations gratuites de licences d’un hyperviseur à l’autre.


Et si mon environnement virtuel comprend à la fois vSphere et Hyper-V ?

Vous pouvez acheter des licences pour n’importe quelle combinaison d’hyperviseurs. Par exemple, vous pouvez acheter 10 sockets de Veeam Availability Suite pour Hyper-V et 12 sockets de Veeam Availability Suite pour VMware. Si vous changez de plateforme d’hyperviseur ultérieurement, vous pouvez également migrer les licences entre hyperviseurs socket par socket.


Quelles licences et installations sont nécessaires pour administrer les agents Linux et Windows de Veeam Availability Suite ?

L’utilisation de la fonctionnalité d’administration des agents nécessite l’installation du paquet redistribuable de Veeam Agent pour Microsoft Windows 2.1 ou version ultérieure et/ou de Veeam Agent pour Linux v2 ou version ultérieure avec Veeam Backup & Replication.

Licences

Les informations générales sur les licences Veeam, dont les critères d’attribution des licences et la terminologie peuvent être consultés ici.


Comment les licences de Veeam Availability Suite sont-elles structurées ?

Les licences de Veeam Availability Suite sont évaluées sur une base perpétuelle avec maintenance de base ou de production, ou sous forme de licence par abonnement comprenant le support Production 24/7.

Les licences de Veeam Availability Suite sont évaluées par socket CPU sur les hôtes dont les VMs doivent être sauvegardées, répliquées, supervisées ou faire l’objet de rapports. Une licence est nécessaire pour chaque socket occupé de la carte mère et indiqué par l’API de l’hyperviseur.

REMARQUE : Les hôtes cibles utilisés pour les tâches de réplication et de migration ne sont pas soumis à licence.


Existe-t-il une version gratuite de Veeam Availability Suite ?

Oui. Vous recevez un fichier de licence unique que vous installez et qui contient deux composants : Veeam Backup & Replication et Veeam ONE. Les licences des deux composants doivent être de même type (perpétuel ou par abonnement).


Certains composants du produit tels que serveurs de sauvegarde, proxys de sauvegarde ou repositorys de sauvegarde font-ils l’objet de licences séparées ?

Non. Les composants du produit ne font pas l’objet de licences séparées. Vous pouvez déployer autant de composants que nécessaire dans la limite du nombre de sockets associé à la licence.


Un client peut-il utiliser plus d’une édition dans un environnement ?

Non. Une seule édition, Standard, Enterprise ou Enterprise Plus, peut être utilisée sur le même site physique. En outre, tous les types de licences de plusieurs sites physiques doivent être les mêmes si vous souhaitez les administrer au moyen d’un seul Veeam Enterprise Manager.

Cette règle reste valable pour tous les déploiements Veeam Backup & Replication, y compris dans les environnements multi-hyperviseurs. Par exemple, si vous exploitez 5 licences pour vSphere et 5 licences pour Hyper-V sur un site donné, l’ensemble des 10 licences doit être de type Standard, Enterprise ou Enterprise Plus.

Les clients existants souhaitant passer à l’édition Enterprise or Enterprise Plus doivent mettre à niveau toutes leurs licences actuelles afin de recevoir un fichier de licence global.

Mises à niveau

J’utilise Veeam Backup & Replication et je voudrais passer à Veeam Availability Suite. Comment faire ?

Les clients disposant d’un contrat de maintenance en cours de validité peuvent passer à Veeam Availability Suite pour un prix tenant compte de leur investissement initial dans Veeam Backup & Replication. Contactez votre représentant commercial Veeam pour demander la mise à niveau.

Dans le cadre de la mise à niveau, vous recevrez un an de support de base pour Veeam ONE. Il est souhaitable d’harmoniser les dates d’échéance de vos contrats de maintenance pour Veeam Backup & Replication et Veeam ONE afin de n’avoir qu’une seule date d’expiration pour tous les composants de votre Veeam Availability Suite.

Pour bénéficier de toutes les fonctionnalités intégrées à la 9.5, vous devez exécuter la 9.5 des deux produits.


Comment mettre à niveau ma licence vers une autre édition ?

Pour effectuer votre mise à niveau vers une autre édition, veuillez visiter le portail des licences Veeam.


Comment mettre à niveau ma licence vers la 9.5 ?

Il vous faudra un nouveau fichier de licence pour installer la 9.5, même si vous ne prévoyez pas de changer d’édition. Veuillez vous rendre sur le portail des licences Veeam pour télécharger un fichier de licence pour la 9.5.


Comment renouveler mon support ?

Pour renouveler votre support, veuillez demander un devis de renouvellement.


Qu’est-ce que la mise à jour automatique des licences ?

Depuis la v7 patch 4, Veeam Backup & Replication prend en charge la mise à jour automatique des licences. Lorsque cette fonctionnalité est activée, le serveur de sauvegarde Veeam (ou le serveur Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager s’il est déployé) communique de manière proactive avec le portail des licences Veeam pour recevoir une nouvelle licence avant l’expiration de la licence en cours. Pour plus d’informations sur l’activation de cette fonctionnalité, veuillez consulter le Guide de l’utilisateur Veeam Backup & Replication pour vSphere et le Guide de l’utilisateur pour Hyper-V.

Avez-vous d’autres questions ?

Assistez à une de nos démonstrations de produits en direct ou contactez votre représentant commercial Veeam.

Sales Hotline: 1-800-691-1991 8am - 8pm ET
English

NEW Veeam Availability Suite 9.5

Includes Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE

FAQ on Veeam Availability Suite

What is Veeam Availability Suite 9.5?
Veeam® Availability Suite™ 9.5 brings new powerful capabilities, delivering Availability for ALL workloads — virtual, physical, cloud — from a single management console. It delivers Availability for the Always-On Enterprise™ by combining the backup, restore and replication capabilities of Veeam Backup & Replication™ with the advanced monitoring, reporting and capacity planning-functionality functionality of Veeam ONE
What’s new in Veeam Availability Suite 9.5?

This latest release of Veeam Availability Suite offers customers the ability to manage and protect ALL workloads — virtual, physical, cloud — from a single Veeam pane of glass. It also features new strategic partnerships and storage integrations with IBM Spectrum Virtualize and Lenovo Storage V Series to lower RTOs and RPOs, plus new data management, analytics and compliance reporting for physical and cloud-based workloads.

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE NEW 9.5 FEATURES

Can I get advanced monitoring, reporting and capacity planning for backup without purchasing Veeam Availability Suite?
These features are available only in environments where version 6.5 or higher of both Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE are deployed. To take advantage of all the integrated features in 9.5, you must be running 9.5 of both products.
Is there a difference in price for using Veeam Availability Suite for VMware vSphere environments in comparison to Microsoft Hyper-V environments?
No. Veeam maintains price parity across hypervisors.
What if my virtual environment includes both VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V?
Veeam licenses are not hypervisor-specific. To get started, simply purchase the correct number of perpetual sockets or subscription VMs needed for your virtual environment. Any number or combination of your purchased licenses can be used for VMware vSphere and/or Microsoft Hyper-V environments. 
What licensing and installation details are required to manage Linux-based and Windows-based Agents from Veeam Availability Suite?
Utilization of agent management functionality requires the additional installation of the redistributable package of Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows 2.1 or later, and/or Veeam Agent for Linux v2 or later, with Veeam Backup & Replication. Agent licenses are available on a subscription basis and can be utilized for either Linux- or Microsoft Windows-based workloads. 

Licensing

General Veeam licensing information, including licensing criteria and terminology, can be viewed here.
How is Veeam Availability Suite licensed?

Licenses for Veeam Availability Suite are purchased on a perpetual basis with basic or production maintenance, or a subscription license which includes 24x7 Production Support.

Perpetual licenses of Veeam Availability Suite are licensed per CPU socket on hosts with virtual machines (VMs) to be backed up, replicated, monitored or reported on. A license is required for each occupied motherboard socket as reported by the hypervisor API.

Subscription licenses of Veeam Availability Suite are licensed per VM. There are one- to five-year subscription licenses available, and customers can choose to purchase the entire subscription up front, or pay annually.

Note: Target hosts (for replication and migration jobs) do not need to be licensed.

Is there a single license file for Veeam Availability Suite?
Yes. You get a single license file that you install and that contains two components: Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE. Each component must be licensed on the same basis such as perpetual or subscription.
Are any product components such as backup servers, backup proxies or backup repositories licensed separately?
No. Product components are not licensed separately. You can deploy as many of these components as you like while licensed to the correct number of sockets or VMs.
Can a customer have more than one edition in an environment?

No. Only one edition, Standard, Enterprise, or Enterprise Plus, can be used in the same physical location. Furthermore, all licensed editions must be the same across multiple locations to manage them through one Veeam Enterprise Manager.

This requirement applies to all Veeam Backup & Replication deployments, including multi-hypervisor environments. For example, if you have five licenses for vSphere and five licenses for Hyper-V in a location, all 10 licenses must be either Standard, Enterprise or Enterprise Plus.

Current customers who wish to upgrade to Enterprise or Enterprise Plus must upgrade all current licenses to receive a merged license file.

Upgrades

I use Veeam Backup & Replication and would like to upgrade to Veeam Availability Suite. How can I do this?

Customers with perpetual licenses of Veeam Backup & Replication who are current on maintenance, and customers with subscription licenses can upgrade to Veeam Availability Suite at a price that takes their original investment in Veeam Backup & Replication into consideration. Contact your Veeam sales representative to request the upgrade.

For perpetual license holders, as part of the upgrade, you will receive one year of basic support for Veeam ONE. Maintenance for your Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam ONE licenses should be co-termed to facilitate a single-support expiration date for all components of your Veeam Availability Suite. For those interested in upgrading a subscription license, support is already included.

To take advantage of all the integrated features in 9.5, you must be running 9.5 for both products.

How do I upgrade my license to another edition?
To upgrade to another edition, visit the Veeam Licensing Portal.
How do I upgrade my license to 9.5?
You will need a new license file to install 9.5, even if you do not plan to upgrade your edition. Visit the Veeam Licensing Portal to download a 9.5 license file.
How do I renew support for my perpetual licenses?
To renew your support, please complete a request for a renewal quote.
What is an Automatic License Update?
Starting with v7 patch 4, Veeam Backup & Replication supports automatic license updates. With this feature enabled, Veeam backup server (or Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager server, if deployed) proactively communicates with the Veeam licensing portal to receive a new license before the current license expires. For more information about enabling this feature, review the Veeam Backup & Replication User Guide for vSphere and User Guide for Hyper-V.

Do you have more questions?

Attend one of our live product demos, or contact your Veeam sales representative.