Veeam Backup for AWS Recovery/Migration Procedure

KB ID:
3058
Product:
Veeam Backup for AWS
Version:
Any
Published:
Last Modified:
2020-07-10

Challenge

This document explains how to recover or migrate Veeam Backup for AWS data to a new instance.

A Veeam Backup for AWS instance may fail or get corrupt and requires the data volume to be moved to a new instance since it contains information about restore points, repositories, policies. Additionally, this procedure can be used when migrating between editions (for example from FREE to BYOL or MMS). 

Solution

To perform a migration to a new instance, deploy a new Veeam Backup for AWS instance via the AWS marketplace using Cloud Formation as explained in the user guide on installing Veeam Backup for AWS.  

Before beginning, make sure that both Veeam Backup for AWS instances are in the same AWS region and availability zone.

To perform the migration, do the following:

1. Detach volume 2 from the new Veeam Backup for AWS instance. By default, this is ‘/dev/sdb’. This can be done via the EBS ID link. On the volume page, select "Detach Volume" from the Actions menu.
 

NOTE: It is recommended to stop instance before detaching a disk, as a disk may stuck in the Busy state for a long period of time.
User-added image
 
User-added image
2. Repeat the first step for the old Veeam Backup for AWS instance. This will free up the data disk so it can be attached to the new instance.
3. Within the Instance overview, copy the instance ID from the new Veeam Backup for AWS instance.
User-added image
4. Within the Volume overview, select the data volume from the old Veeam Backup for AWS instance and select “Attach volume” from the actions dropdown. 
User-added image
5. Within the “Attach volume” window, fill in the instance id from the new Veeam Backup for AWS instance and device name.
User-added image
6. The new Veeam Backup for AWS instance is now ready and can be started.
7. Once the new Veeam Backup for AWS instance is started, you must go through the initial setup to configure the instance and create the initial user. Afterward, you will see all your backup policies, repositories, restore points... User accounts are not migrated so they will have to be recreated.

NOTE: If you are using custom roles please update "Trust relationship" for those roles as described in this article.

Rate the quality of this KB article: 
5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings

Couldn't find what you were looking for?

Below you can submit an idea for a new knowledge base article.

Report a typo on this page:

Please select a spelling error or a typo on this page with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter to report this mistake to us. Thank you!

Spelling error in text:

Submit