+86-10-5643-8388 | 09:00-18:00北京时间

常见问题解答

Veeam 许可(所有产品)

Veeam® 提供多种软件许可,具体取决于您感兴趣的特定产品和用例。这包括按受保护工作负载数量、用户、编排实例或较旧的按插槽选项提供许可。Veeam 提供可在各种产品和工作负载之间移植的通用许可,或仅用于特定产品的许可。

Veeam 通用许可常见问题解答

Veeam 提供一系列许可选项,专注于尽可能灵活地为客户简化产品许可流程。Veeam 通用许可 (VUL) 是功能超强大的灵活许可选项。如需查看许可选项的所有详细信息,请参考上述许可政策。下面列出了一些常见问题。
通用许可有何优势?

随着市场加速向基于可移植性的多云和混合环境转移,订阅式许可开始被寄予厚望。Veeam 向客户承诺通过可移植许可模式提供越来越多的产品。 该模式可为客户提供下列优势:

  • 通用可移植性:许可支持在多个 Veeam 产品和工作负载之间互换使用。
  • 简化使用:更简单的许可订购、管理和合并功能。
  • 更高价值:以更低的每工作负载价格提供更多特性。仅购买所需产品,规避受到特定工作负载许可限制的风险。
  • 价格可预测性:预先购买多年合同,尽享优惠价格,或者按需按年付费。
  • 按工作负载付费:只购买现在需要的产品,并在续约时根据需求增加或减少产品。
  • 无限制:如果不满意,您可以不再续订。
  • 包含的支持:在许可的整个期限内免费获取 24.7.365 全天候生产支持 
什么是 Veeam 通用许可 (VUL)?

VUL 是一种通用可移植许可,可为用户提供一项新优势 — 可移植性,在不增加云费用的情况下帮助他们更轻松地迁移至云和混合环境。

VUL 许可按规定时间销售,支持通过预付方式购买一到五年的服务或年付方式购买三年的服务。这些许可支持在各种 Veeam 产品和工作负载类型之间互换使用。该许可具有按使用付费许可的所有优势,例如开始时少量购买而无任何限制,以及采用适合云环境的运营支出预算模式按使用付费。它还提供了资本支出选项。

VUL 相比传统许可还有更多优势。您不再需要“按产品”购买许可,也不再受限于特定工作负载类型。这种全新模式支持更多用户更轻松地使用各种产品和特性。没错:许可能够用于多种虚拟、物理或云端产品和工作负载,因此您可放弃不需要的许可类型或产品。我们将这一特性称为可移植性!

随时使用您所需的功能。许可的可移植性还可简化订购和许可管理,消除按产品或工作负载类型管理各种 SKU 的复杂性。

什么是工作负载?我需要多少 VUL 许可?

工作负载可以是虚拟机、物理服务器、企业应用程序、云虚拟机、企业应用程序、NAS 文件共享等。客户可使用 VUL 许可按需保护任何工作负载,因为这些许可具有可移植性。客户最少需要购买 5-10 个许可,并使用这些许可保护各种工作负载。

通常所需许可数量等于您希望保护的工作负载数量。大多数工作负载仅需要一个许可实例。工作站或终端保护除外,在这一情况中一个许可将保护三个工作站。一个 VUL 许可还将保护 500GB NAS 文件容量,或者每 TB 两个许可。了解您需要多少许可的最佳方法是使用我们的许可配置工具。选择产品,输入您的工作负载和所选期限。

最少需要购买 10 个 VUL 许可。如果最低购买要求为 10 个许可,我们建议您试用 Veeam Backup Essentials,它按捆绑包销售(每包 5 个许可),可保护最多 50 个工作负载,能够满足小企业需求。

如何购买 VUL?哪些期限可供选择?

VUL 用于保护许多工作负载,一些工作负载需要使用 VUL。那么,您需要购买什么呢?

商业和大企业

  • Veeam Availability Suite™ VUL:云端、虚拟及物理工作负载的备份和监控
  • Veeam Backup & Replication VUL:云端、虚拟及物理工作负载的备份

小企业

  • Veeam Backup Essentials VUL:云端、虚拟及物理工作负载的备份和监控,仅支持 50 个工作负载

您最少需要购买 5-10 个 VUL 许可。您可根据自己的需求选择一到五年的许可和付款时间表。预付或年付;年度选项仅适用于三年期。许可到期时,您必须续约才可继续使用订阅许可。所有许可均包括 24.7.365 全天候生产支持。

VUL 许可能够用来做什么?

VUL 可用于获得各种许可,且使用范围在不断扩大。实际上,这些许可能够用于保护多数工作负载类型,包括虚拟机和基于云的虚拟机、物理服务器和工作站及企业应用程序插件。以下列表显示了目前可用的工作负载类型:

  • 虚拟机(VMware vSphere、Hyper-V 和 Nutanix AHV):Veeam Backup & Replication
  • 物理服务器和工作站:Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows、Linux、Mac、IBM AIX 和 Oracle Solaris
  • 云原生工作负载:Veeam Backup for AWS Microsoft Azure
  • 企业应用程序支持(Oracle RMAN 和 SAP HANA):Veeam Backup & Replication 应用程序插件
  • NAS 文件共享:Veeam Backup & Replication
  • 监控:Veeam ONE™,作为 Veeam Availability Suite 或 Veeam Backup Essentials 一部分销售

可使用单独许可的 Veeam Disaster Recovery Orchestrator 将站点恢复编排与测试添加至 VUL 环境中。

哪些产品尚未使用 VUL 提供?

目前,以下产品仍使用单个订阅许可而非可移植订阅许可进行销售:

  • Veeam Kasten K10(单独许可)
  • Veeam Disaster Recovery Orchestrator(单独许可)
  • Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365(单独许可)
  • Veeam Management Pack™ (MP) for System Center(单独许可)**
能否将 VUL 许可用于 Veeam Backup for AWS Microsoft Azure 工作负载?
可以。VUL 许可将 AWS 和 Azure 工作负载与其他云端、虚拟及物理数据的备份和恢复统一起来,同时还提供云端无限数据可移植性。
能否同时使用 VUL(按工作负载)和传统按插槽许可?

可以,但 VUL 许可功能齐全,始终不受版本、工作负载或环境的限制,因此是具有出色灵活性的首选方案。 

客户可以部署同时使用 VUL 和插槽许可的集中管理环境。但并非所有产品均可组合在一起(有关可合并 VUL 和插槽产品的完整列表,请点击此处)。例如,如果使用永久按插槽许可保护 VMware vSphere 或 Microsoft Hyper-V 虚拟机,您必须使用环境中的插槽保护所有 vSphere 和 Hyper-V 虚拟机。VUL 许可仍能够用于其他任何非虚拟机工作负载类型。

重要说明:合并按插槽和 VUL 许可时,请注意插槽许可“版本”决定了整个合并环境的功能。例如:如果您将 Veeam Backup & Replication 企业版插槽与 Veeam Backup & Replication VUL(具有全部特性)合并,则可将环境设置为企业版特性集。为了获得企业增强版的全部功能,用户需要 a) 将按插槽许可迁移至 VUL 许可或 b) 将按插槽许可升级至企业增强版。

如何合并许可文件?
希望部署集中管理环境的客户可能需要合并许可文件,但应满足按插槽和 VUL 组件维护服务仍然有效的要求。如有任何问题,请联系 Veeam 支持人员。
当前哪些产品可合并许可以进行集中管理?

Veeam Availability Suite 可将插槽与通用许可合并到一个集中管理的环境中。

Veeam Backup Essentials 无法合并按插槽和通用许可,但您仍有两种选择:

  • Veeam Backup Essentials 插槽可与 Veeam Availability Suite VUL 合并。
  • 可将 Veeam Backup Essentials 插槽和通用许可升级至 Veeam Availability Suite,以实现集中管理和许可合并性。 
如何从传统的永久产品合同迁移至功能齐全的可移植 VUL 许可?
如需从基于插槽的许可迁移至 VUL 许可,客户可购买迁移 SKU。购买此 SKU 即可将合同从按插槽许可迁移至 VUL 许可,并在原期限基础上延长支持服务期限。客户资格以永久插槽年度维护续约的价格进行迁移(此价格享受 24/7 全天候生产支持级别)。客户必须拥有企业增强版插槽产品,才能迁移或购买迁移时所需的相应的升级 SKU。 从永久模式迁移至订阅模式必须覆盖客户合同中的所有插槽。禁止在未使用授权迁移 SKU 的情况下购买新 VUL 订阅许可替代永久按插槽许可。迁移之后,所有新报价将采用 VUL 订阅价格。 有关迁移的详细信息,请联系 Veeam 续约团队。 
作为按插槽许可客户,我能否试用 VUL 许可及其新特性?
我们为 Veeam Availability Suite、Veeam Backup & Replication 及 Veeam Backup Essentials 按插槽客户提供 VUL 许可,其中每个插槽许可能够对应获得一个 VUL 许可。您可以免费试用多达 6 个许可。这些许可支持您试用可靠功能,以保护 Veeam Agents for Microsoft WindowsLinux、面向 Oracle RMANSAP HANA 的企业插件、云工作负载及 NAS 文件共享等,且不会附带任何条件。上述许可将出现在产品中(如下所示),且不会过期。
如何延长订阅期限?
如需通过 VUL 订阅继续使用 Veeam 产品,只需在当前服务到期之前续约 VUL 许可即可。如需协助获取报价,请点击此处联系我们的团队。
如果我在集中管理的同一个控制台中同时使用插槽许可和 VUL 许可,可获得哪个版本的特性和支持级别?
当集中管理插槽许可和 VUL 时,插槽许可密钥将定义整个合并环境的产品版本特性集和支持级别。请参阅许可政策第 2.4 和 2.5 节。

还有问题?

请在右侧的导航窗格中查看我们的产品特定常见问题解答。您还可以参加我们相关的现场产品演示或联系您的 Veeam 销售代表

https://login.veeam.com/en/oauth?client_id=nXojRrypJ8&redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.veeam.com%2Fservices%2Fauthentication%2Fredirect_url&response_type=code&scope=profile&state=eyJmaW5hbFJlZGlyZWN0TG9jYXRpb24iOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy52ZWVhbS5jb20vZmFxLmh0bWwiLCJoYXNoIjoiZmZlZmM0MzMtMzkzMC00NWJhLTg0NGMtMjYyNDRkNTgxMmVmIn0
1-800-691-1991 | 9am - 8pm ET
EN

Frequently Asked Questions

Veeam licensing (all products)

Veeam® licenses software in a variety of ways depending on the specific product and use case you are interested in. This includes licensing by the number of protected workloads or by the number of CPU sockets on a managed server or host. Some products may license by user, instance or partition. Veeam offers Universal licensing for portability across various products, workloads or licensing that is specific to a particular product only.

Veeam Universal License FAQs

Veeam offers a range of licensing options with the focus on making licensing products as simple and flexible as possible for customers. The Veeam Universal License (VUL) is the most capable and flexible license option available. To see the all details of the licensing options, please reference the licensing policy above. Below are the most commonly asked questions.
What are the benefits of a Universal license?

As the market increasingly shifts more toward multi-cloud and hybrid environments, based on the foundation of portability, subscription-type licensing is becoming an expectation. Veeam has made the commitment to customers to offer more and more products via a portable license model. The benefits of this model for customers include:

  • Universal portability: Licenses can be used interchangeably across multiple Veeam products and workloads.
  • Simplified use: Easier license ordering, management and merging capabilities.
  • Increased value: More features at a lower price per workload. Buy only what you need without the risk of locking into specific workload licenses.
  • Price predictability: Purchase multi-year contracts to lock in pricing by paying upfront or paying as you go.
  • Pay for use: Buy only what you need today and increase or decrease what you buy based on your need at the time of renewal.
  • No lock-in: If you're not satisfied, you can choose not to renew your subscription.
  • Support included: Get 24.7.365 production support for the entire term of your license at no extra cost (excluding Veeam Backup Starter, which includes basic support).
What is Veeam’s Universal License (VUL) model?

VUL is a subscription model that can be used universally, providing users with an added element of portability, making the jump to cloud and hybrid environments even easier without any additional cloud fees.

VUL licenses are sold for a defined duration, from one- to five-year paid upfront terms or paid annually for a three-year term. These licenses can be used across a variety of Veeam products and workload types interchangeably. This licensing offers all the benefits of a pay-as-you-go license, such as the ability to start small without lock-in, and the ability to pay for what you consume using a cloud-friendly OpEx budgeting model.

But there are many more benefits to VUL that separates it from traditional subscriptions. You no longer have to purchase licenses by individual product or restricted to a specific workload type. This new model makes a variety of products and features more readily available to more users. That’s right: Subscription licenses can be used across multiple products and workloads, whether they be virtual, physical or in the cloud, so you aren’t tied to a license type or product that you don’t need. We call that portability!

Use what you want, when you need it. License portability also simplifies ordering and license management, which reduces the complexity of managing various SKUs by product or workload type.

What is the difference between VUL and Veeam Instance Licensing?
VUL is a more simplified, portable and easy-to-use configuration of its predecessor, Veeam Instance License (VIL). VUL is sold as a pool of licenses in a single, fully-featured version with no confusing instance weighting calculations. With VUL, one license protects one workload. Effective Oct. 1, 2019, VUL is Veeam’s subscription license and existing subscription customers will be upgraded to VUL at the installation of v10 of Veeam’s products.
What is a Workload and how many VUL licenses do I need?

A workload can be a VM, physical server, enterprise application, cloud VM or a file share. With VUL, customers can use the licenses to protect any workload they need, since the licenses are portable. Customers purchase licenses, sold in minimum quantities of 10 licenses, and can use those licenses to protect various workloads.

The number of licenses generally needed equates to the number of workloads you are looking to protect. Most workloads require just one license instance. An exception is when you’re protecting workstations or endpoints, where one license will protect three workstations. One VUL license will also protect 250 GB of NAS file capacity, or four licenses per TB. The best way to see how many licenses you need is with our VUL configurator. Select the product, enter your workloads and your term of your choice.

VUL licenses are sold in minimum quantities of 10 licenses. If the minimum purchase requirement of 10 licenses is a barrier, we suggest trying Veeam Backup & Replication™ Community Edition, which protects 10 workloads for free.

How do I purchase VUL and what are the terms?

VUL is used to protect many workloads, and some workloads require VUL. So, what do you need to purchase?

Commercial and Enterprise

  • Veeam Availability Suite™ VUL: Backup and monitoring of cloud, virtual and physical workloads
  • Veeam Backup & Replication VUL: Backup of cloud, virtual and physical workloads

Small-to-Medium sized business

  • Veeam Backup Essentials VUL: Backup and monitoring of cloud, virtual and physical workloads, limited to 50 workloads
  • Veeam Backup Starter VUL: Backup of cloud, virtual and physical workloads, limited to 20 workloads with basic customer support only

You purchase VUL licenses in minimum quantities of 10 licenses. With one- to five-year options, you can choose the term and payment schedule that best meets your needs. Pay upfront or pay annually; the annual option is available for three-year terms only. When the license expires, you must renew the license to continue using the subscription. All licenses include 24.7.365 production support, except Veeam Backup Starter, which just includes basic support.

What can VUL licenses be used for?

VUL can be used for a variety of things, and that list is growing. Effectively, these licenses can be used for most workload types, including VMs and cloud-based VMs, physical servers and workstations, and enterprise application plugins. The list below shows the type of workloads that available today:

  • VMs (VMware vSphere, Hyper-V and Nutanix AHV): Veeam Backup & Replication
  • Physical servers and workstations: Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows, Linux, IBM AIX and Oracle Solaris
  • Cloud-native workloads: Veeam Backup for AWS, Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux
  • Enterprise application support (Oracle RMAN and SAP HANA): Veeam Backup & Replication enterprise plug-in or Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux
  • NAS file shares: Veeam Backup & Replication
  • Monitoring: Veeam ONE™, sold as part of Veeam Availability Suite or Veeam Backup Essentials
What products are not yet available using VUL?

At this time, the following products are still sold using individual Subscription licenses instead of portable Subscription licenses:

  • Veeam Management Pack™ (MP) for System Center
  • Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365
  • Veeam Availability Orchestrator
Does Veeam offer socket licenses for Veeam Agents, VBR Nutanix AHV Backup Proxy, Veeam Availability Orchestrator or Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365?
No, these products are not available with per-socket licenses.
Can I use VUL licenses for Veeam Backup for AWS cloud-native workloads?
If you are looking to use your existing VUL licenses for Veeam Backup for AWS, contact sales or open a licensing support ticket for help.
Can I have both VUL (per-workload) and per-socket licenses?

Customers can have a centrally managed environment that uses both VUL and socket licenses. However, not all products can be combined (a full list of mergeable VUL and socket products can be found here). For example, if you protect VMware vSphere or Microsoft Hyper-V VMs with perpetual per-socket licenses, you must protect all vSphere and Hyper-V VMs with sockets in that environment. VUL licenses can still be used for any other non-VM workload type.

Important note: When merging per-socket and VUL licenses, be aware that the socket license dictates the edition and capability of the entire merged environment. For example: If you merge Veeam Availability Suite Enterprise edition sockets with Veeam Availability Suite VUL (i.e., the Enterprise Plus capability), the environment will be set to the Enterprise edition feature set. In order to get full Enterprise Plus edition capabilities, users need to either a) migrate per-socket licenses to VUL licenses or b) upgrade per-socket licenses to the preferred edition (likely Enterprise Plus Edition).

How do I merge license files?
If a customer wants to have a centrally managed environment, they may need to merge license files. The requirement is that maintenance is current for both the per-socket and VUL components. Contact Veeam support for assistance with any issues.
What products can merge licenses for central management today?

Veeam Availability Suite can merge socket and universal licenses into one centrally managed environment.

Veeam Backup & Replication can also merge socket and universal licenses into one centrally managed environment.

Veeam Backup Essentials, however, cannot merge per-socket and universal licenses, but you still have two options:

  • Veeam Backup Essentials sockets can be merged with Veeam Availability Suite VUL.
  • Veeam Backup Essentials sockets and universal licenses can be upgraded to Veeam Availability Suite for centralized management and license mergeability. 
How do I update my license file?

This process will be handled in product or inside “My Account” on the customer portal. Customers upgrading to version 10 will have their license file updated immediately. This includes customers who have some Perpetual licenses and some Agent Server or workstation licenses.

Click on the “Get New Licenses” button in “My Account”. Select the products you want to upgrade, click download and you’re done.

How do I monitor Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux?

Purchase Veeam Availability Suite VUL. Veeam Availability Suite offers both the data protection of Veeam Backup & Replication for virtual, physical and cloud workloads as well as the monitoring and analytics capabilities of Veeam ONE in one suite. Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux are now a module within Veeam Backup & Replication.

For example, VUL licenses will allow the protection and monitoring of five VMs and five server agents using 10 total licenses. Customers are not charged additional licenses for monitoring.

How can I migrate from a legacy perpetual product contract to a fully featured, portable VUL license?
Customers can migrate from Perpetual Socket-based licenses to VUL Subscription licenses by purchasing a migration SKU. Purchasing this SKU converts the contract from perpetual per-socket to VUL subscription and extends the support term for the purchased period. Customers are entitled to migrate at the cost of their perpetual socket’s annual maintenance renewal (set at the Production 24/7 Support level). They must own an Enterprise Plus socket product to migrate or purchase a respective upgrade SKU along with migration. Any migration from perpetual model to subscription must be done for the full number of sockets in the customer’s contract. The purchase of new VUL Subscription licenses to replace Perpetual Per-Socket licenses without using the authorized migration SKU is not permitted. After migration, all further quoting will be done using VUL subscription prices. For details on migration, please reach out to the Veeam Renewals Team
Am I required to migrate to VUL licenses?
No, there is no requirement to move to the VUL license model. Per-socket perpetual licensing is still an option for customers who need to protect VMware vSphere or Microsoft Hyper-V workloads on-premises. To protect certain workloads such as NAS file shares, cloud workloads and Veeam Agent servers or workstations, a VUL license is required.
I’m a per-socket license customer, can I try VUL subscription licensing?
We give Veeam Availability Suite, Veeam Backup & Replication and Veeam Backup Essentials per-socket customers one VUL license for each socket license. You can try up to six licenses at no cost. These licenses allow you to try out the capabilities for protecting Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux, Enterprise Plug-ins for Oracle RMAN and SAP HANA, cloud workloads, NAS file shares and more with no strings attached. These licenses appear in the product as shown below and do not expire.
How do I continue my subscription term?
To continue using your Veeam products with a VUL subscription, simply renew your VUL licenses prior to the expiration of your current term. For assistance with a quote, please contact our team here.
Which edition features and support level will I get if I have both Socket and VUL licenses in the same, centrally managed console?
When Sockets and VUL are centrally managed, the Socket License Key will define the product edition feature-set and support level of the entire merged environment. Please refer to Licensing policy sections 2.4 and 2.5.

Questions?

Please view our product-specific FAQs in the right navigation pane. You also can attend one of our live product demos or contact your Veeam sales representative.