Repository 'Used Space' Value Greater Than 'Capacity'

KB ID: 2996
Product: Veeam Backup & Replication
Published: 2019-08-28
Last Modified: 2022-08-23
Get weekly article updates
By subscribing, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Notice.

Cheers for trusting us with the spot in your mailbox!

Now you’re less likely to miss what’s been brewing in our knowledge base with this weekly digest

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

Challenge

A Repository listed under Backup Infrastructure > Backup Repositories has a 'Used Space' value that is greater than the 'Capacity' of the storage.
Screenshot of Used Space vs Capacity

Cause

This occurs when repositories are backed by storage that has the ability to reduce the space used by restore points, like deduplication storage or  storage that is compatible with Fast Clone.

The 'Used Space' value is calculated by Veeam Backup & Replication using the size it recorded as having been transfered for each restore point associated with the repository.

Solution

It is an expected possibility for the 'Used Space' to be greater than the capicty of the repository in environments using Deduplicating Storage or Fast Clone compatible storage (XFS or ReFS).

However, if the environment is not using either of those technologies, please collect diagnostics logs and open a case with Veeam support.

More Information

A rare situation scenario exists wherein a NAS with a recycle bin function enabled may cause this issue. When a metadata (.vbm) file for a job needs to be updated, a new one is written to the disk, the previous one is deleted, and the new one is renamed to match the old vbm. When the recycle bin function is enabled, that deleted .vbm file is captured by the NAS and stored in a hidden recycle bin folder, which Veeam Backup & Replication may be able to access during a repository rescan operation. When this sequence of events occurs, Veeam Backup & Replication, the data contained in the deleted .vbm is stored within the configuration database. This redundant data causes multiple duplicate entries for the same backup set can be seen under Backups > Disk (Imported).
Send Article Feedback
To report a typo on this page, highlight the typo with your mouse and press CTRL + Enter.

Spelling error in text

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.

KB Feedback/Suggestion

This form is only for KB Feedback/Suggestions, if you need help with the software open a support case

By submitting, you are agreeing to have your personal information managed in accordance with the terms of Veeam's Privacy Notice.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Verify your email to continue your product download
We've sent a verification code to:
  • Incorrect verification code. Please try again.
An email with a verification code was just sent to
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend in sec
Didn't receive the code? Click to resend
Thank you!

Thank you!

Your feedback has been received and will be reviewed.

error icon

Oops! Something went wrong.

Please try again later.